Which Fictional Character Would You Marry?

Which Fictional Character Would You Marry? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI love me some fiction, Modern Philosophers.

Sure, the truth might be stranger in some instances, but fiction is exponentially more entertaining pretty much all the time.

My marriage was definitely one of those circumstances when truth outdid fiction in the weird category, but maybe that period of my life would have been more entertaining had there been more fiction involved.

This idea, of course, got the Deep Thoughts flowing.  Which leads me to ask…

Which fictional character would you marry?

Maybe so many marriages end in divorce because we insist on marrying real people.  What would happen if we engaged in unions between between reality and fantasy?  Surely that sort of thing must be legal now.  After all, it is the twenty-first century.

So who would you marry, Modern Philosophers, if you could pop the question to any fictional character from any medium?

I’ll go first and confess that I’d be the luckiest man in the galaxy if Rey from Star Wars: The Force Awakens would do me the honor of being my fictitious wife.

The future fake Mrs. Austin. The Force is strong with this one!

The future fake Mrs. Austin. The Force is strong with this one!

Sure, that brown eyed scavenger from Jakku is easy on the eyes, but I’m not shallow enough to just marry Rey for her looks.

I desperately need some excitement in my life, and after decades of living on a planet almost as desolate and oppressive as Maine in the winter, Rey showed that she had a nose for adventure once she finally left Jakku.

The future Mrs. Austin is an outstanding pilot, which means we could travel the universe together in style with her in the Captain’s seat, while I manned the guns and kept our droids from getting into too much mischief.

Is that a lightsaber in your tunic, or are you just glad to see me?Rey clearly has Jedi heritage, so our kiddos would be strong in the ways of the Force, making me a future Jedi Daddy as well.  If I can’t be a Jedi Knight, then the next best thing is to marry one and sire several more.

I hope that we will learn more about this in Stars Wars: Episode VIII, but I have searched my feelings, and I believe that making Rey my wife would mean that I would be related to either the Skywalker or Kenobi clan by marriage.

How awesome would that group of in-laws be?  Plus, I’m sure we’d holiday with all the Star Wars characters I’ve idolized since I was seven.  Do you think Chewbacca would let me pet him?  Can I braid Leia’s hair?  Would Admiral Ackbar be put off by the fact that I love fried calamari?

Every once in a while, my actual girlfriend will give me a hard time about my crush on Daisy Ridley, the actress who brings Rey to life on the big screen.  I have to remind the love of my life that I’m not infatuated with Miss Ridley.  Sure, I obviously have a thing for attractive, twentysomething brunettes with athletic builds, knockout smiles, and enchanting European accents, but I already have that.  In real life.

My future wife will be great with kids if her relationship with BB-8 is any indication...Fictionally speaking, I’m crushing on Rey, last name unknown, who doesn’t have many friends, feels totally disconnected from the world around her, and wonders if she will ever be rescued from her boring life and a job that does not fulfill her.

Sound familiar?

So who are you going to marry, Modern Philosophers?  I really want to see the comments section cluttered with Deep Thoughts on this one.  Have fun with it.  I know you folks are creative, so I want to read all about your secret, fictional loves…

When you’re done sharing your Deep Thoughts, follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Which Fictional Character Would You Marry?

  1. John Cusack, like, 20 years ago? Does that count?

  2. Anne of Green Gables? I have a thing for redheads, anyway…wearing pink or not 🙂 LOL

  3. …Or Jo March…Hee hee

  4. I want a blend of Jim Halpert, Mr. Darcy, and Doctor Who.

  5. amandagrey1 says:

    Hmm, if we are going Star Wars themed… Han Solo? The early version of course. Although, he’d make a terrible husband, at least he’s pretty badass. 😉

  6. Gunther says:

    Tracy Tzu of the movie Year of the Dragon or Professor Zoe Ryan.in the TV show MacGyver. Both of them are outspoken, intelligent, confident people.

    • Austin says:

      Nice. Thanks for stopping by to answer that one. 🙂

      • Gunther says:

        I would also marry Patricia ‘Patty’ Winston of the movie Date with an Angel; however, she is too high strung, too high maintenance, too emotionally insecure and the same thing applies to her parents. Would not want them as in-laws.

        You are welcome.

  7. Gilly says:

    Mr. Toad of Toad Hall from Wind In The Willows – OMG what a blast life would be with him! Or maybe Richard E Grant’s character Withnail in the film Withnail and I.

  8. donedreaming says:

    Mr Darcy in Pride and Prejudice. Such fun to play with his uptight arrogance and then see the cracks appear in his aloof exterior to reveal the romantic man beneath. Excuse me, I need to go lie down for a moment …….

  9. Ocean Bream says:

    Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice, but then he got ruined by the awful film made of him with Keira Knightley – and then Bridget Jones unceremoniously blackened his name with horrid chick lit. So I gave him up for lost and latched my sights on Ned Worthington from What Katy Did Next. I am an old romantic girl. That is, I like old romances. Rey is a fabulous choice, I admire her space boots off, really.

  10. John says:

    It has to be a fictional character from film or television. As much as I would like not to be shallow, it’s really helpful when you have an actual physical image to add to the mix. So many come to mind, but I’ll stick with the first one I thought of: Charlotte from “Lost In Translation.” She’s smart, wise, in search of a life with meaning, and a bit quirky. And, well, she also looks like Scarlett Johansson.

  11. Oh wow. Tough choice. I’ll be thinking on this for awhile.

  12. Lutheranliar says:

    Totally Mr. Darcy. Didn’t have to think more than, um, two seconds.

  13. Lutheranliar says:

    I just NOW read the previous comments and see that Mr. Darcy and I would have to have a rather open marriage, to say the least. (Seriously, I think it’s interesting — tho not surprising — that others would pick him!)

  14. Alexis says:

    If I have to choose someone else’s character, it would be F. Darcy. But if it’s all open, I’ve written several characters I could easily set myself up with…and really, I’d be happy with all of them. 🙂

  15. Gunther says:

    Persis Ray of the Wilby Conspiracy, Kathy Mazur of the 1993 movie Freefall, or Michelle Morgan of the movie Subspecies.

  16. Gunther says:

    Marcy Rhodes/Darcy of Married with Children especially with her short cropped hair.

  17. Gunther says:

    Rosa of the 2005 movie Bloodsuckers, Suki Cho of Defying Gravity and Corporal Barnes of SGU Stargate Universe. You are probably right about me being a fictional polygamist with so many women and only one of me.

  18. Gunther says:

    Ensign Annalee Dorne of the movie In Harm’s Way, Cathy Evans in the 1960s sci-fi series The Outer Limits, Lieutenant Marla McGivers of Star Trek, Barbara Gordon in the 1960s show Batman, and three Moon Base Alpha ladies from the TV show Space 1999: Sandra Benes, Shermeen Williams and Carolyn Powell.

  19. The Hook says:

    Do adult film stars count as fictional characters?
    Actually, this is a tough one; I really have no idea, Austin.
    #Stumped

  20. Gunther says:

    Terry in the episode Love Hurts in the TV show She’s the Sheriff, Detective Megan Wheeler of Law and Order Criminal Intent; Detective Olivia Benson of Law and Order Special Victim Unit – I love the early seasons when she had very short hair like Maggie O’Connell of Northern Exposure.

  21. Megan says:

    Jamie Frazer, Please don’t ask what is he from. Also Rhett Butler and of course Mr. Darcy.

  22. Megan says:

    I can’t believe I forgot Thomas Magnum or Frank Reagan or Matthew Quigley or Peter Mitchell. Sensing a theme here?

  23. Gunther says:

    Nikki Franco of the TV show V.I.P., Cara Jean ‘C.J.’ Lamb of L. A. Law, Jamie Ross of Law and Order, the original Felicia Forrester of the Bold and the Beautiful, and Leslie Carrington of the TV show Dynasty.

    • Austin says:

      You know, the question was to name the ONE fictional character you would marry. I think you’ve more than answered at this point. 🙂

  24. Dr. Ethan Hunt from Grey’s Anatomy. A war vet, life saving, red head hottie who is a hopeless romantic. ❤ him!

  25. Pingback: Who Was Your First Fictional Love? – Sonia G Medeiros

Leave a Reply

