Is Chinese Food Actually The Best Medicine?

Is Chinese Food the Best Medicine? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherWelcome to another edition of the Friday Night Think Tank, Modern Philosophers!

It’s been a challenging week, but since it would violate my Stay Positive mantra to go into details as to why, let’s focus on what we can do to make it better.

I’ve searched my Deep Thoughts in preparation for tonight’s philosophical gathering, and I’ve some to the conclusion that, despite what the so called experts say, Laughter is not the Best Medicine.

To prove my point, I laughed several times today, and it really did nothing to improve my mood.

It didn’t even leave me with a fit of the giggles that lasted more than four hours and required me to call my doctor.

As a Modern Philosopher and a newly converted member of the Cult of Positivity, I made it my quest to determine what actually was the top dog of medicines.  This, of course, led me to tonight’s Think Tank topic…

This week’s topic: What do you believe is the Best Medicine?

Friday Night Think Tank: Best MedicineI’ve been working some overtime this week, Modern Philosophers, and plan to go into the office for a few hours tomorrow.  No, I’m not that dedicated to my job.  I am, however, a huge supporter of increasing the size of my bank account.

As I trudged to my desk at 7:15 this morning, I made an executive decision, which was ironic since I’m a long way from executive status at my place of business.

Anyway, I decided that I was getting Chinese food after I work my overtime shift tomorrow.  I’m going to call in my order when I leave, and it should be waiting for me when I arrive.  The perfect reward for giving up my Saturday.

In other words, Chinese food is the Best Medicine!

I know a lot of you will say Chinese food is not only bad for you, but it also really doesn’t fill up your tummy.  So how can that make it the ultimate medicine?

I will counter with this: Chinese food is naughty and forbidden, I know I’m not supposed to eat it, but when I give in to the urge I always feel so happy.  Then I need a nap.

Basically, eating Chinese food is like a much more exciting naughty activity, which I cannot indulge in since my significant other and partner in naughtiness is very far away.  Which might be a leading reason as to why it’s been a very challenging week.  If I were able to divulge such negative information, that is…

So, yeah, Modern Philosophers, I’d much rather be returning home to a delicious Irish dessert rather than a Chinese lunch after work tomorrow.  But life isn’t always fair, and sometimes you have to spend the afternoon with General Tso and make the most of it.

Love: The Best MedicineOf course, what this revelation tells me is that Love might be the Best Medicine.

The only thing is, the leading cause of Love Sickness is the annoying absence of love from your life.

So I guess it’s Chinese food for me.

It’s not that I don’t love Chinese food.  It’s just that I much prefer the way that other medicine makes me feel…

What medicine is best for you, Modern Philosophers?

It’s probably not the Best Medicine, but following me on Pinterest is free and has absolutely zero side effects!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Is Chinese Food Actually The Best Medicine?

  1. susielindau says:

    Now I’m hungry for Chinese food. Sorry you have to put in some OT, but sounds like you’ve got something to look forward to and there’s always that fortune cookie. Maybe next week will be better!

  2. A says:

    I dunno, Austin, Chinese food is pretty darn good medicine for a crappy day/attitude!! And who says it’s not good for you?! Chinese people are healthy and live quite long lives! Ok, so maybe Americanized Chinese food isn’t very good for you… but it sure tastes good 🙂
    I feel best when my Muse is playing nice nice and I can actually write something I am proud of, which has not happened for weeks now :/ There’s no better feeling than words flowing effortlessly from your brain through your fingertips and the release it brings with it, when it happens. Hopefully I can become friends with my Muse again someday soon…

  3. Chinese food is good medicine for many ailments. However, the side effects can be dire: for me they include upset stomach and immediate weight gain. There is also the danger of addiction. Sometimes a good, hard run or other work-out is good medicine, even if it doesn’t give you a dose of them there endorphins. I’m sorry laughter did not work for you; I have often felt its healing benefits. Ah, but love, now you have it. Love IS the best medicine and, in most cases, the answer. I’m going to pick up my love from work in another hour. I hope you’ll see yours soon.

  4. Best medicine for me is being alone all day and crafting, painting or writing while playing heavy metal so loud the windows rattle.

  5. I cannot agree with you more how much Chinese food makes me feel better. Cures my cravings. Great post!

  6. Reblogged this on and commented:
    One blogger’s take on Chinese food.

Leave a Reply

