Monday Morning Coffee Club: The Blackout of 2016

A Deep Thought about blackouts...Tonight’s very late edition of the Coffee Club is brought to you by the letters “O” and “T”, Modern Philosophers.

That’s right, I was up at the crack of dawn to head into work early for some overtime.  What can I say?  My bank account was hungry, so I jumped at the chance to feed it.  They don’t offer much OT at my office, so when they open up the borders to the Land of Time and a Half, I grab my passport and book myself on the first flight.

It wasn’t too bad.  I made it through the day, and plan to get up just as early tomorrow.  A lazy man sleeps.  A wise man makes money to buy a better bed!

Around 4:00 this afternoon, the skies darkened and several of my coworkers gathered at the windows because they:

a. Were afraid that an invading Alien armada had blacked out the sun.

b. Wanted to see if rain was a different color today, you know, because of Trump.

c. Knew any excuse not to work was a great excuse.

I’ll reveal the answer to that one later in the post.  If I remember.  Which I doubt I will because I’m so tired from working such a long day.

Anyway, it rained.  It was a storm of biblical proportion, which was a sure sign that the Republican National Convention begins tonight.

The power has gone out at The House on the Hill three times in the last two hours.  This means that I’ve fled to the front porch to write this post before the WiFi goes out again.  I can find out how last night’s episode of The Last Ship ends later.

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Blackout EditionA power failure isn’t that bad during the summer.  It’s not like I’m frustrated that my air conditioner isn’t working in this heat.  You know, since I don’t have one.

Blackouts might be an inconvenience, but the unexpected peace and quite makes me realize that the Amish might actually be on to something.  Those clever bastards…

There is a minor bit of exciting news to report.  I started a new screenplay yesterday.  It’s nothing major, just the first ten pages of an idea that’s been dancing in my head for months, but it was time to unleash my inner screenwriter.

He’s been idle for far too long, not earning any money to  cover his share of the rent, and basically coasting on his good looks and past successes.  I’m all for not rushing the creative process, but the lag time between screenplays has been ridiculous.

Even if nothing comes of this one (way to be positive, Austin!), at least I’m exercising my screenwriting muscles again.  No one likes a flabby screenwriter.

The skies are clearing, so the threat of any more power outages tonight has probably passed.  I should go back inside and tell the interns they no longer have to illuminate The House on the Hill by slowly walking around with those candles, but I like the eerie shadows they’re creating.

Another fifteen minutes won’t hurt them while I take a quick nap.

Happy Monday!

Quick…follow me on Pinterest before the power goes out again!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: The Blackout of 2016

  1. Did the epic storm usher in an era of cooler weather? Or merely create more humidity to complement the heat?

    Bust a move on that screenplay, Austin. I’m off to do the same. Next month I’ll get some tips from Sorkin. Watch out- I’ll be unstoppable.

Leave a Reply

