Monday Morning Coffee Club: Mondays Are Trash

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Mondays are Trash!Sorry for yet another tardy Coffee Club post, Modern Philosophers, but I was up early and quickly out the door to work some more overtime.

It’s very important that I keep my mind occupied right now, and it’s ironic that my mindless job is perfect for that.

Plus, I’m in a mood for something much stronger than coffee, but the blog doesn’t have a liquor license since the interns forgot to renew it last month.

So we’re stuck with lukewarm coffee and whatever Deep Thoughts tumble out of my head after a long work day.

I’d like to apologize to those of you who are fans of the Sundays With Satan Short Story Series.  I know you look forward to those witty tales, and I kind of screwed up last night’s edition by allowing my personal demons to mingle with the Prince of All Demons.

As you know, my writing is greatly influenced by real life experiences, and I’d been subjected to quite the stressful phone call just prior to sitting down to write.  What was meant to be a quirky, upbeat story mocking the Pokemon Go craze turned into a woeful tale that ending with my breaking into tears.

Sorry.  At least you know the writing comes from my heart, right?

Needless to say, I had some crazy dreams last night.  In fact, two of the big three nightmares paid a visit.  The third one was probably on its way, but I woke up early for work before it could haunt me as well.

Do you have recurring nightmares, Modern Philosophers?  I can’t talk about one of the ones I had last night, but the other was about the restaurant where I worked to put myself through NYU.

Still not enough coffee for a Monday!Twenty-five years later, I found myself back there, busing tables, and having no idea how to do the job efficiently on an incredibly busy night.  As always, I became aware in the dream that I should not still be working in the restaurant at this point in my life, and trying to figure out why I had returned only added to my stress as I struggled to set tables and clear dishes.

I was spared the third recurring nightmare, which is the one where the masked stranger with a butcher knife watches me sleep.  I always wake up trying to fight off the stranger, and once found myself halfway down the hallway throwing punches at someone who wasn’t really there.

Speaking of finding weird, unexpected things…check out that photo at the beginning of this post.  I arrived at The House on the Hill after work to discover that bag of garbage resting against my garage.

Isn’t is adorable how we have official city trash bags that cost us five dollars a pop?  That’s a whole other rant, though.

My first thought upon seeing the bag was “What are my neighbors trying to tell me?”.  Then I remembered that Janine had texted me earlier to tell me she had left it there and asked if I could put it out tomorrow for trash night.

Aren’t we such wonderful neighbors?

I’ve done enough rambling for one night.  Thanks for listening, Modern Philosophers.  What I really need right now is for someone to just listen as I vent about getting through a particularly hard time.

You guys really are the best!  Happy Monday!

I promise I’m usually much happier and more hilarious.  Will you take my word for it and follow me on Pinterest?  Thanks!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Mondays Are Trash

  1. Happy Monday, Austin! Things will get better. 🙂

  2. Sheila Moss says:

    My dreams these days seem to be filled with political figures. A few Pokémon would be a welcome change.

  3. ksbeth says:

    it’s okay, we all have happy and sad moments in our lives –

  4. I was a food server when I was younger and I still have nightmares about getting quadruple tables all at once, forgetting drink and food orders, not showing up for work properly dressed… Weird, stressful stuff.

  5. Austin, I love your writing! I can always count on you to bring me a good laugh. Thank you! By the way, I just nominated you for one of those blogger awards. Sadly, I do not believe there is any monetary reward attached to this thing. But ain’t it nice just knowing someone appreciates you? :)https://madcapchristianscientist.com/2016/07/26/blogger-recognition-award/

Leave a Reply

