What’s Your Breaking Point?

What's Your Breaking Point? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHow far can you push yourself before you reach your breaking point, Modern Philosophers?

Just a simple philosophical question to sink your Deep Thoughts into on this sweltering Summer night.

To be honest, I have neither the energy, nor the creativity to write anything deep enough to require a lifeguard to be on duty this evening.

That’s because I’ve reached my breaking point.

And we’ve come full circle.

Tonight’s After Dinner Mints post is brought to you by the letters “O”, “T”, and “Zzzzzz”.

I’ve pushed myself to work an insane amount of hours over the past two weeks, Modern Philosophers, and I have finally hit the wall.  Someone asked me tonight if I planned to come in again on Saturday, and I couldn’t even summon up the strength the laugh maniacally at the absurdity of the question.

By the time I clock out for the weekend tomorrow night, I should have 105 hours on this paycheck.  For those of you not good at math (or as incredibly tired as I am), that means I will have put in 25 hours of overtime over the last two weeks.

I’ve been driven to work so hard for many reasons.  Money is near the top of the list.

Anyone drop this?Who doesn’t need more of it?

I’m always up for a challenge, and I’ve enjoyed calculating the total of my next paycheck after every day of OT.

As the numbers on my imaginary check grew, so did my desire to push myself a little harder and wake up just a tad earlier.  Plus, I found personal satisfaction in knowing that I could put in the extra work, see the results, and then I would actually be rewarded for my efforts on pay day.

Let’s face it, Modern Philosophers, we don’t always get what we deserve for busting our butts and going above and beyond.  The occasional pat on the back is nice, but money in my pocket is exponentially better.

So why am I suddenly waxing philosophical about breaking points?

For one, I’m exhausted.  I’m totally dragging and there’s a good chance I will just decide to remain in this chair and sleep out on the porch tonight.  The front door is ridiculously far away from my current location, and I don’t think I could make that hike right now.

There’s also the fact that tomorrow is Friday, so I know the end is near and I can finally allow myself to admit that all this additional applying of my nose to the grinstone has taken its toll.  There’s nothing wrong with admitting that one is tired when one has earned the right to do so!

The Long Walk. I recommend it.Finally, I’m clearly being influenced by the book I’m reading.

Stephen King’s The Long Walk is a definite page turner, and a read worthy of whatever additional energy I can conjure up to keep my eyes open long enough to devour it.

The story is set in a dystopian version of Maine and focuses on an event that involves one hundred teenage boys discovering their breaking point.  At a very high price.

My neighbor, the famous writer, has my fatigued mind using every last bit of juice left in its tank to form Deep Thoughts about my limits and how far I’d be willing to push myself.

It’s an intriguing exercise and I will most likely fall asleep wrestling with this one.

How do you know when you’ve reached your breaking point?  What’s the most exhausted you’ve ever been?  What’s the largest amount of overtime you’ve worked?  Was it worth it in the end?

Sleep well, Modern Philosophers.  I know I will…

Before you reach your breaking point, take a sec to follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What’s Your Breaking Point?

  1. grannyK says:

    I think I was most exhausted when I had my in home daycare. I did 5 11 hour days every week filled with 6 to 9 kids. Of course, I was a bit younger then, too. I hope you don’t go in this weekend! You need rest so you don’t get sick!

  2. floridaborne says:

    I was working 12 hour days 6 days a week in the mid 1990’s and a husband who didn’t work and who wanted me to be the same party woman I was when I worked 8 hour days 5 days a week.

  3. Lutheranliar says:

    Well. I certainly hope you’ve scheduled yourself some recovery time! Speaking of time, it’s been a while since I worked any significant overtime. But back in The Day, when I was climbing the Ad Biz ladder, it was not uncommon to spend entire weekends at the office (plus the nights of the workweek before) slaving away on what is known as a Pitch. Nowadays, as an occasional freelancer, I run when I hear the word ‘Pitch’. I’m way too old for cold pizza and sleeping on an office floor.

  4. Lutheranliar says:

    We were (sigh) young

  5. The Hook says:

    I’m at my breaking point in terms of my dreams, Austin.
    Let me tell you, that wall really sucks…

  6. raphaela99 says:

    I hope you are able to rest soon! You can’t go on like this for too much longer, my friend.

Leave a Reply

