How To Start The Day Right Without Ever Leaving Bed

life hacks, good morning, rise and shine, mental health, advice, humor, Modern PhilosopherHappy Sunday, Modern Philosophers.  Hope you all woke up on the right side of the bed this morning!

Going through my divorce was the darkest time of my life.  I didn’t know how I was going to survive on my own after being with J for 16 years, and some mornings, I didn’t even want to get out of bed to face the Hell that awaited me.

I went to a therapist, and his advice was to sit up in bed, put my feet firmly on the floor, and tell myself I was going to be able to get through the day.  Once I accepted I was ready, I should get up and face the day.

I know he meant well, but I thought his advice was total horse$%^&.  It was like I was already conceding victory to the day, and my battle plan was to just do what I could to survive until the next morning.

With that in mind, I offer you my advice on how to start the day right…without ever leaving bed!

Don’t set the alarm.  Being abruptly yanked from a deep sleep and back into reality is no way to start your day on the right foot.  Don’t set the clock and just wake up naturally.  You’ll be amazed at how much better your attitude is under those conditions.

How To Start The Day Right | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherGive yourself permission to go back to sleep.  If you wake up and realize that you aren’t ready to face the day, don’t be afraid to roll over and go back to sleep.

Think about it…why purposely start your day in a grumpy mood?  Sure, you might be late for work, school, or whatever else was at the start of your calendar, but you can always reschedule or make up time.  You can’t restart a day that has begun poorly.  Sleeping in might be a minor inconvenience for some, but they are also the ones who will benefit from your being in a much better mood when you finally arrive.

Welcome to my nightmare!Analyze your dreams.  I don’t know about you, Modern Philosophers, but I have cool, crazy, scary, creative dreams.  When I first wake up, I love to stay in bed and try to remember all the little movies that played in my head while I was sleeping.

I’ll often be able to pull a new screenplay idea out of my dreams, so it’s well worth the time to remain under the covers and hit rewind.  Also, if I had a particularly memorable dream, replaying it once or twice in my head is a great way to start my day on a positive note.

And if I’ve had a horrible nightmare, thinking it through and reminding myself it was only a dream is the best way to take away its power so it doesn’t haunt me all day and come back to ruin my sleep again that night.

Read.  I followed this advice just this morning, Modern Philosophers.  I kept The Long Walk by Stephen King next to the bed, and picked it up to continue my reading once my eyes managed to focus.

Reading is a great way to slowly bring your brain back online.  The big mistake most of us make is stumbling out of bed half awake.  This puts us at a total disadvantage.  Every little thing has the potential to trip us up or set us off.  But if we read first and jump start our brains, we are fully aware, powered up, and prepared for whatever the day has in store.

Have more fun in bed. Write.Write.  Writing is even better than reading as a means of getting the brain going because creative juices flow quickly and are rich in all the empowering nutrients you need to build your self-confidence.

I can grab the laptop with my long monkey boy arms without having to leave the bed.  If I’ve had a particularly awesome dream, it’s best to get the details down in a file before the memories fade.

Nothing builds my confidence more than writing, so if I want to be in a position to totally kick a day’s ass, I’ll start that day by writing a few pages in bed.  After that, the day’s going to need some helpful hints to figure out how to deal with me!

Call someone who makes you smile.  Having the chats on the phone with someone special while still all comfy cozy under the covers is a great way to kick off any morning.  Love, laughter, a familiar voice…all things that make us feel safe, happy, and positive.

Rise and shine and face the day...but only on your terms when you're ready!Get out of bed only when you’re truly ready.  It’s your life, Modern Philosophers, so life it on your terms.  Stay in bed until you know you’re ready to face the day.  Believe it or not, life goes on without a hitch even without you actively participating in it.  If you need a little more time before you’re ready to jump into the chaos, take it.

You only live once.  Pace yourself.  What’s the rush to get back out there?  Some days are going to be rough, so don’t make them worse by rushing out to face them when you aren’t physically or mentally ready for the challenge.

All the world’s indeed a stage, and we are merely players.  But even the bit players have the right to adjust their call times when necessary.

I’m well aware that there is something else we can do in bed to get any day off to a fantastic start, but not all of us are lucky enough to wake up next to our significant other every morning.  Plus, this is a family friendly blog…

Have a great day, Modern Philosophers!

Another thing you can do in bed to get your day off to a great start is following me on Pinterest.  Just click below and you’ve done it!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How To Start The Day Right Without Ever Leaving Bed

  1. Claudia says:

    Your words are warm and encouraging. We don’t get to take advantage of sleeping or laying-in much anymore, so every morning we can is a gift. I seem to take that advice more in the evening to get to sleep. Hearts Up!

  2. Now that’s a morning routine I can get behind. Love it.

  3. Gunther says:

    If I was retired, then I could do things that you have listed.

  4. Great advice. My favorite is writing. And I too have the weirdest dreams. While I was going through my divorce, all of a sudden I wasn’t able to dream, or at least remember my dreams, but ai woke up crying. It’s been about three years now, and I’m finally dreaming again. Sometimes weird scary dreams again, but dreaming.

Leave a Reply

