Monday Morning Coffee Club: MLB Trade Deadline 2016

baseball, MLB Trade Deadline, sports, Yankees, Carlos Beltran, Andrew Miller, Monday, coffee, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe MLB Trade Deadline has passed, Modern Philosophers, so I can finally sit down, relax, and write my Coffee Club Post.

Sure, it’s late again, but this was no normal Monday.  The Trade Deadline is a very exciting time for a baseball nerd like me, so there was no way I was going to be able to blog about my day before the best part of it had happened.

I also got up early and worked 10.5 hours, but that’s just because I wanted to keep myself busy on a day when I normally pace the floors in excitement as I wonder what my beloved Yankees will do.

You guys do know I love the Yankees, right?

Usually, my Bronx Bombers make a blockbuster trade on Deadline Day to bolster their lineup for another World Series run.

This year, however, things have been different.  The Yanks have gotten old, they’re mediocre at best, and the only run they seem to be capable of making this season is to the trainer’s room.

So I had a hunch that GM Brian Cashman might hold a fire sale and jettison proven assets in return for some hope for the future.

There’s no point in keeping aging superstars and their enormous paychekcs around on a team that isn’t going to the playoffs.  It’s time to dump salaries, give the youngsters some playing time, and get some new, young talent so that there are more World Series in the not so distant future.

And Cashman delivered.  He broke up the three headed bullpen monster by trading Aroldis Chapman and Andrew Miller for some blue chip minor league talent.

Then he unloaded Carlos Beltran’s mighty switch hitting bat for more prospects.

Go Yankees!Finally, Ivan Nova was made to walk the plank to the Pirates.  Hopefully, one of the young pitchers acquired in these trades will be ready to take his place in the starting rotation soon.

The only player I’m really going to miss in that bunch is Miller, but you’ve got to make sacrifices if you want to rebuild.

Even though this year has been a bust in the standings, Modern Philosophers, I’m more excited than ever about the Yankees.

I’ve been hoping for a long time they would unload the huge contracts and build a new dynasty with fresh, young talent.  I’m actually very jealous when I see all the rising, young, superstars out there on other teams, and it makes me long for the days when Jeter, Rivera, Posada, and Williams were making their debuts.

When I finish this post, I’m headed inside to heat up my Chicken Parmesan and watch the Yankees face off against the Mets on ESPN.  The Subway Series never grows old for me, even when the Yanks aren’t at the top of the standings.

How did your team do at the Trade Deadline?  Any exciting deals to report?

Happy Monday!  Go Yankees!

So are you gonna play ball and follow me on Pinterest or what???

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

