What If I…GULP…Went For A Run?

running, fitness, health, exercise, wellness, humor, Modern PhilosopherI bailed on my running routine about two months ago, Modern Philosophers, after I injured my leg.

Since I’m not as young as I once was, it’s taken an incredibly long time for my injury to heal.  I went for a run about a month ago, made it home okay, but my leg stiffened up and hurt afterwards.

On the advice of my physio therapist, I put off any further running until my gimpy limb was back to full power.

I’m sure I could’ve done some other cardio exercise over this period, but I will be the first to admit that I got lazy.  The summer heatwave that has made Maine a sweaty mess only strengthened my resolve to avoid exercise until I was feeling 100%.

There are many problems with this kind of thinking, but the most obvious was that my body quickly packed on the pounds during the extended period of inactivity.

I feel like crap, I’m embarrassed to look at myself in the mirror, and I am an absolute idiot for ignoring my personal health and wellness.

That needs to change.  Life is piling on right now, and this is one situation I can control.

Today is the first day of my vacation, and I made a vow to use some of the time to work on weight loss, start running again, and prioritize my health.

With that in mind, I got my ass up out of bed and went for a run this morning!

health, wellness, running, fitness, exercise, humor, Modern PhilosopherAs you can see from this photo, taken moments before I hit the road for the first time in ages, I wasn’t too thrilled with the idea of running again.

I was extremely realistic in my goals for the run.

My top priority was to make it home alive.

After that, my plan was to basically complete three miles anyway I could.  I assumed there would be a lot of walking, and I had enough money on me to pay for a cab back to The House on the Hill.

I got out on the road early enough that the sun wasn’t powered up to full blast yet, but it was already hot and humid.

As it’s been so long since my last running post, perhaps I should remind you that I absolutely loathe the activity.  Running is not only not my bag, but I’d also like to put a plastic bag over running’s head and suffocate it to death.

Modern Philosopher that I am, however, I understand that Fat Austin cannot become Fit and Healthy Austin again without running.

So ours is a relationship of convenience that will most definitely end with one of us killing the other and then fleeing the country for a life on the lam.

My immediate concern was that my bum leg wouldn’t hold up for three miles, and I’d have to crawl home, a sweaty mess that would frighten passing motorists into speeding up to avoid hearing me beg for a ride.

Turns out it was my lungs that ended up being the problem children.  The fire in them started about a half mile in, as most of the run out is on an incline.  Someone must have seen the flames because the Fire Department was quickly on the scene.

running, fitness, health, exercise, humor, Modern PhilosopherNothing is more humiliating than having a battalion of extremely fit men come to your rescue when you’re trying not to draw any attention to the fact that you’ve allowed yourself to become fat and out of shape.

Once I got rid of the calendar men, I was back at it.  My lungs were still smoldering, but at least my leg wasn’t giving me any trouble.

Having just completed The Long Walk by Stephen King, I really didn’t want to be a wimp about traversing a mere three miles over well paved roads in Maine.

As I’d predicted, there needed to be some walking mixed in with the running.  Breathing was difficult and I needed the little pit stops to get it back under control again.  On a positive note, the walk breaks were very short.  I wasn’t running at a very fast clip, but the pace was burning far more calories than I had by sitting on the couch like a lazy sack of $%^& for the past two months.

I surprised myself on the return trip by only having to stop once to walk.  And that was at the base of the one major incline that stood between my exhausted body and The House on the Hill.

I finished my run alive (goal #1 accomplished!), with both legs in working order (always a plus!), in just over thirty-one minutes.

Not bad at all for a fat, lazy, run hater from the mean streets of Brooklyn.

I’m writing this a couple of hours later, and my leg still feels good.  I’m beat, but I’ve got all day to recover from my wimpy reaction to a half hour of manly activity.

If my body doesn’t give out on me, I plan to be back on the road tomorrow.

Just run!The road of life doesn’t always take you where you want to go, but if you run every once in awhile instead of just walking, there’s a chance you’ll find the way to your intended destination much faster.

I hope those words of wisdom, combined with my story of redemption, inspire you to get up off your bum and be active today.

The first place you should run is over to Pinterest to follow me!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What If I…GULP…Went For A Run?

  1. lisaorchard1 says:

    I’ve been trying to heal also. I’ve run on and off since highschool. So, I understand your love/hate relationship. Right now my sciatica is acting up so I’ve been taking it easy. 🙂 I’m glad to hear your injury is on the mend. 🙂

  2. womanpulse says:

    Living in Atlanta I know hot! I used to be a runner but developed a heel problem, it is so hard on your joints.

  3. Gail says:

    You’re not alone. I’ve never wanted to be one that is afraid to move, but I find that as I get older, I’m more conscious about aggravating old injuries. Though I never want to give up my activities, I hold back from challenging myself to up my game and stick with the status quo. Congratulations on your resilience!

  4. My shoes barely remember me & I have a marathon in October. Glad you ran. Now go ice up & stretch .

    • Austin says:

      A marathon? Good luck!

      • Yes! I’m a seasoned vet. I best Ben typically. The only thing I hate is without a full 4-5 months to build distance & speed I will be slower so I won’t be sharing my pace. It takes me a solid 6 miles to feel my pace so my short runs are 9-10 miles. My trainer has to force me to take days off cardio so this last few years has been hell. Spurts of running then stopping every time my neurologist panicked or I’d have a mild seizure I would be told to not run for obvious reasons. Then I would run when I was cleared . Then off again. I ran a half marathon this spring with zero training. Did a half marathon after 12 day coma from my right lung collapsing & septic shock three months after release from hospital & I ran it at my training pace. Running just feels good. There is nothing better. My phone is off. No social media. Just a nice trail . Treadmills -blah & music on tempo runs & speed days. Rest of the time solo time is all that’s needed! Take advantage & run. Don’t you find you write better when you run?

      • Austin says:

        Sometimes, depending on what I think about while I’m running…

      • I just think randomly but mostly process emotions

Leave a Reply

