Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/8/16

Monday, humor, philosophy, vacation, screenwriting, Modern Philosopher, quotesHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

I am on vacation, so this Monday is a lot easier to deal with than the usual version.  So far, I haven’t done much more than relax and try to get into the Olympics spirit.

Unfortunately, Archery and Rugby aren’t exactly doing it for me.  So maybe it’s time to douse the Olympic flame at The House on the Hill and do a little writing.

I had big plans for this vacation, the kind that alter a man’s destiny and send him down a path that leads to a completely different life.

However, those plans have been altered, and when I look at the snapshot of my future in my mind’s eye, I see that certain people are fading from the photo.  So if I can’t figuratively get my parents to kiss at the Enchantment Under the Sea Dance during this vacation, I’m worried that my preferred future will literally vanish from potential existence.

I have a tendency to worry, be an all my eggs in one basket kind of guy, and lean on Back to the Future references when things don’t go exactly as planned.

I am trying to relax, though.

I’m 17 pages into a new screenplay.  The other night, after my vacation plans started to crumble, I had a sudden inspiration to rewrite the first 10 pages to make them darker.

It has been my intention for this script to be a thriller, the genre I used to write so well, but have shied away from in favor of romantic comedies (I blame that on the success of this blog!), but the opening still read like something out of a comedy.

Monday, coffee, philosophy, relationships, screenwriting, Modern PhilosopherSo I gave the protagonist some balls, added a naughty sex scene, and suddenly, I’m a much  bigger fan of the story.

While the complications with my vacation have been upsetting, it looks like having a little turmoil unexpectedly hurled my way has pushed me to a better situation with my screenwriting.

Writers often fight back best with words.

The plan is to keep working on the screenplay over my vacation and use my angst to add depth to the story.

I had an interesting Deep Thought this morning as I slowly cleared the cobwebs from my brain and tried to prepare myself for the day ahead…

Mondays are the official hangover of a weekend done right.

I liked that one so much, Modern Philosophers, that I turned it into a meme to start off this post.  What do you think of that idea?

I know Mondays have a bad reputation on this blog, but I don’t think you have that kind of albatross hung around your neck unless you’ve done something to earn it.

I welcome Monday to write a guest post to address my meme, and promise to publish it should one be submitted.

It looks like I’m OUTATIME, Modern Philosophers (yes, that’s another witty nod to our favorite movie about the life of this blog’s sponsor, Doc Brown).

Hope you are all enjoying your Monday.  If you are that one special Modern Philosopher with the power to send me back to the future I desire, please keep in mind there is still plenty of time to rescue this vacation…

Mondays are way more awesome when you follow me on Pinterest!

 

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/8/16

  1. Gail says:

    Sometimes I wish I had a DeLorean to take me back so I could redo the past knowing now what I didn’t know then.

Leave a Reply

