Have The Olympics Inspired You?

Olympics, Summer Olympics, Rio 2016, fitness, health, running, exercise, inspiration, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was sitting on the couch this morning, Modern Philosophers, feeling sorry for myself about the general state of affairs of my life.

I was also trapped at The House on the Hill because the guy was down in the basement taking care of the furnace’s annual cleaning.

Not that I wanted to go anywhere.  I’ve been isolating myself since my vacation began because I just need some time alone to process and cope.

Luckily, the Summer Olympics happening in Rio, so there was something to watch on TV.

This morning’s event was Women’s Beach Volleyball, and as I watched these world class athletes battle under the brutal summer sun, the one Deep Thought that kept popping into my head was:

“Those women have amazing abs!”

I looked down at my belly, which was thankfully covered by my toga, and even without x-ray vision, I knew that my stomach looked nothing like the athletic ones on display on my television.

That was when I realized that I currently have absolutely no control over the main problem in my life.  Either she will decide to talk to me again, or she won’t.  There’s really nothing I can do to influence that decision, and just have to believe that love will win.

What I did have control over, however, was my health.

running, fitness, health, Summer Olympics, Rio 2016, humor, inspiration, Modern PhilosopherI had already written off going for a run today because the weather report called for temperatures in the mid-nineties with high humidity.

One more long look at those killer abs, though, got me to change my mind.

Once the furnace got left, I changed into my running gear, and hit the road.

As you can see from the stunning action photo on the left, it was a grueling run.  The mercury might not have hit 90 yet, but it was disgustingly humid and my non-Olympian body struggled to keep going.

I honestly gave myself permission to turn around and quit after about half a mile, but I thought about all those inspirational stories I’d heard this week while watching the Summer Olympics.

I bet Michael Phelps never quit on a run because it was too hot.  I don’t suppose any members of our gold medal winning Gymnastics squad ever called it a day because of the wicked high humidity.

So I kept going.  I will admit there was a lot of stopping to walk, gasp for air, and plead to a higher power to allow me to live, but I pushed myself a little further than on my last run.

Today was my fourth run in six days, after taking nearly two months off due to a leg injury.  I’m still nowhere near the shape I had been in before I got hurt, but I was out there again.  Sweating, breathing heavy, and trying to change my life one stride at a time.

just run, fitness, health, exercise, Summer Olympics, Modern PhilosopherFor the record, the maintenance guy said the furnace was getting old, but still ran well enough to be effective.

Sound like anyone we know?

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  Has watching the Summer Olympics inspired you at all?  Did you do anything healthy today?

I’ll never make it to the medal stand, but I do feel like a champion today!

Earn a gold medal by following me on Pinterest today!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Have The Olympics Inspired You?

  1. Damon says:

    This —-> “there was a lot of stopping to walk, gasp for air, and plead to a higher power to allow me to live” = Humorous Relation – AKA: I know what you mean man! Glad you made it! 🙂

    • Austin says:

      Hey, at least I was out there. Thank Zeus I went earlier because it is so hot and humid now that I can’t even be outside. Thanks for reading!

  2. womanpulse says:

    Your posts always make me giggle. One, I don’t watch the Olympics and two you are right we do have control over our health as someone who writes about wellness I really shouldn’t be eating cake right now. Good luck in your health journey but cut yourself slack, everyone can’t have six pack abs

  3. As an athlete, the Olympic athletes inspire me to push on and work harder towards my goals. They don’t stand in those starting positions without having seriously busted their butt to get there. Watching the swimming makes me aware of my horrible lack of skill in that area and it’s something I intend to change 🙂 We might not be Olympians, but we can always improve.

  4. Gail says:

    I find the Olympics depressing. Feel remorse for not participating more in gym class in middle school, but those gym teachers were creepy.

Leave a Reply

