I Ran Today, How Come I’m Not Skinny?

running, fitness, health, exercise, weight loss, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherMy philosophy on running changes often, Modern Philosophers.

Let me clarify that.

My basic philosophy on running is always: Running sucks!

However, my sub-philosophies (if that’s not a thing, I am going to copyright it!) will alter to fit my mood.

Right now it’s: Just run to get healthy because your current lack of physical fitness is one of the few problems in your life you can actually control to some degree.

Yeah, it’s a wordy sub-philosophy, but I’m a writer and words are my thing.  I’m sure if someone asked Aristotle or Socrates about running, their Deep Thoughts on the subject would ramble on as well.

The other thing I’m focusing on with my running at the moment is not worrying about the weight loss.  I tend to become obsessed with the numbers, and if I don’t lose weight quickly, I get frustrated and give up on running.

So when I started running again last week, I did not weigh myself.  I’ll admit, part of that had to do with my being afraid to see how many pounds I’d added while I was nursing a leg injury and couldn’t run.  But it was mainly because I didn’t want weight loss to become the only thing I cared about.

running, fitness, exercise, mental health, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’ve run five out of the past eight days.  This morning’s run, which began in cool, rainy conditions, was my best of the bunch.  I’m still struggling to do three miles, a distance I should be able to cover in my sleep, but I definitely saw an improvement in today’s effort.

My injured leg is still stiff, but I’m finding that my main issue is that my legs feel like they are encased in concrete.  I always stretch before I hit the road, but that hasn’t prevented my legs from feeling ridiculously heavy every time out.

So I trudged along slowly, but surely.

The main takeaway from my new running program, Modern Philosophers, is its overall effect on my mental health.  My friend Kori has been pleading with me to start running again because she believes it will snap me out of my funk.  Something about endorphins and whatnot.

All I know is that I feel better in my brain because I know I am doing something to make the rest of my body healthier.  There’s also the sense of accomplishment I feel after completing every run without dying.

To be honest, I also feel better physically.  There was this sense that something was off, I was sluggish, out of it, not feeling my best.  Now, there’s a spring in my step and I just feel more relaxed…if that even makes sense.

I understand that most of you who exercise are doing it because you want to see the numbers on the scale get smaller.  I’m totally with you on that.  I’m just choosing to not make that the emphasis of my fitness program right now.

running, exercise, fitness, health, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherMy immediate concern is my mental well being.  I’ve got to shake this funk, stop feeling sorry for myself, and put an end to the moping.

That morning run is accomplishing this for me, and even though I’m only out on the road for a little more than half an hour, its effects stay with me throughout the day.

So for the time being, I’m going to ignore the scale and just run.  What’s good for the mind is good for my entire body!

Why don’t you run over to Pinterest and follow me?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Ran Today, How Come I’m Not Skinny?

  1. misshopeshi says:

    I wish it was that easy

    • Austin says:

      Well, the point of the post is that I’m not going to focus on the weight loss now. I’m going to let it improve my mental health and go from there…

  2. markbialczak says:

    Good sub-philosophy, Austin. For a second there, I thought you were either going under water or eating a big sandwich! 🙂 Seriously, your new mind set is a good one, my friend.

  3. I think your philosophy here is the best – focus on the overall benefits to your Self and let the rest just run its course. I have found that works best for me as well. Not that dropping the pounds isn’t a fantastic bonus…

Leave a Reply

