Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/15/16

Monday, coffee, philosophy, relationships, vacation, screenwriting, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt’s Monday and I’m still on vacation, Modern Philosophers.  I just don’t know exactly what to think of this holiday.

I’ve gotten back into my running routine, I’ve written the first act of a new screenplay, and I have definitely relaxed while away from a job at which I had been working an insane amount of overtime.

On the other hand, this is not the vacation I had planned.  Someone was supposed to be here with me, and her absence hangs over The House on the Hill like a dark cloud about to unleash the Storm of the Century.

So I keep swaying between the dark side and the light.  I can only distract myself for so long before my thoughts drift to her, and my mind races with ideas of how to get things back to the way they were.

It’s very difficult to relax with such a heavy heart.

The new screenplay is progressing nicely.  I decided it was time to go back to my thriller roots, so the darkness of the script actually works well with my current mood.  As always, I started with only a sliver of an idea, and the story has been presenting itself to me every day as I sit down to write.

I know most screenwriters prefer detailed outlines, but my philosophy has always been to just wing it and see where the story and the characters take me.  I’m well past the 30 page mark now, and my head is already overflowing with ideas for new scenes.

I had a crazy dream last night that I was back at the tutoring clinic I used to run in California.  Instead of being the boss, though, I was student.  I was in college and they were tutoring me in basic grammar school materials, so I was understandably frustrated and looking for more of a challenge.

I had to read a giant book on Abraham Lincoln and write a report on it, so I asked my team of tutors if I could work on that, but they wouldn’t allow it.  They insisted that my parents had sent me to tutoring to work on my basic reading and math skills, so I shouldn’t be working on my college assignments during this time.

That made absolutely no sense to me, so I left, and told them I was never coming back.

Anyone want to interpret that one for me?

blogs, blogging, bloggers, writing, pitch party, blog share, humor, writing, Modern PhilosopherI’m throwing one of my infamous Blog Pitch Parties, and you’re all invited.  It started yesterday, and tons of bloggers are participating (that is not a comment on anyone’s weight!).  I have over 16,000 followers, so this is great way to get your blog some exposure to a new audience and to meet new bloggers.

Participation is simple.  Just check out yesterday’s post (Blog Pitch Party) and follow the simple instructions to join the fun.

I’d love to see you here, and the party is a great way to keep me distracted so you’d be doing me a favor!

The plan for today is to hold myself together, work on the new screenplay, and play host at the Blog Party.  Stop on by anytime as I’d welcome the company.

Happy Monday!

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/15/16

  1. Klaudia says:

    I hope , you can still enjoy somehow your holiday and find some peace of mind. I don’t know anything about your past , so I can only assume what you mean when talking about your heavy heart. It sounds like you are on the right track , looking for some distraction. Unfortunately, we can’t run away, we have to learn to live with all that life provides for us , the good and also the bad and sad. It sounds so trivial , as words really can’t express everything we want to say. I know , dreams do have a meaning , but do we really always want to know it ?!

    • Austin says:

      I’m having a good day. My neighbor just came over on her lunch and we chatted on the porch for a while. It helps to just talk it out, especially since she knows and has met the person in question…

  2. The Hook says:

    Happy Monday, Austin!
    You rock, dude!

Leave a Reply

