I’ll Never Outrun My Sense Of Humor

running, fitness, exercise, inspiration, humor, quotes, Modern PhilosopherThis is the final weekend before I have to return to work, Modern Philosophers.

My vacation did not end up being what it was supposed to be when we planned it a couple of months ago, but life is like that.

One thing I managed to accomplish between crying fits and feeling sorry for myself was getting back into a running routine.

Today was the ninth run of my vacation.  Not bad at all when you consider I hadn’t run in two months.

Once again, the struggle was real.  For some reason, I can’t seem to conquer the basic three mile run that is the starting point of my running program.  Yes, there is still some resistance from my injured leg, but my lungs are not cooperating like I’d expect.

Sure, this heat and high humidity probably have a lot to do with it, but I can’t help but think that just a couple of summers ago, I was running five miles a couple of days a week as part of my five days a week running program.

Now I’m struggling with three miles while running four days a week.

I’m well aware that I’m getting old, Modern Philosophers, but I refuse to believe that I can’t kick ass on such a short run.

After today’s sweaty adventure, I sat out on the porch for a while to cool down.  I posted a couple of photos from my run on Facebook along with the status update: I went for a run to pick up my new healthier body.  They told me it wasn’t ready yet, and sent me home with this same, crappy loaner body!

running, fitness, health, exercise, relationships, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhile I might never be seen whipping through five mile runs again, it is good to know that I’ll never outrun my sense of humor.

Morale at The House on the Hill is the lowest it’s been in quite some time, Modern Philosophers.

I’m doing my best to keep my chin up, and maintaining my sense of humor is a big part of that.  The only time I’m not crying lately is when I’m running or laughing, and I definitely prefer the latter to the former.

Running is also good for my mood.  Even though I can’t outrun my troubles, it makes me feel better to know that I’m not sitting home all day wallowing in self pity.

At some point, running is going to click for me again.  I’m not sure how long it will take because I’m dealing with so much right now, but in the past, running has always managed to become something of an obsession for me.

I still hate it, but I get to a point where I want to push myself further and faster.  When that happens, some of the self-confidence that has been fleeing my body via tears, will eventually return.

Right now, though, I’m still puttering around in this crappy loaner body.  It gets horrible mileage and all it does is leak sweat.

running, fitness, health, exercise, mental health, Modern PhilosopherBut I’ll take sweat over tears any day.

Running with a broken heart is a challenge, but with every stride out on the road, that damaged heart gets a little bit stronger…

So let’s hear it for everyone who finds time to get out there today and work up a little sweat!

After your run, make sure to follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’ll Never Outrun My Sense Of Humor

  1. Your FB post is hilarious! I know, why is it that one’s fitness goes away LIGHT YEARS faster than it returns? Fortunately for me, I’ve always been motivated to run–not by distance or speed–but by a feeling of “La, la, la, isn’t it pretty outside?” Appreciation of nature (or urban scenery) goes a long way!

  2. Shirley Corder says:

    Enjoyed and empathized with your post! I loved your sense of humor. I have often got myself in trouble by making light of unhappy situations. It gets me through. 🙂

  3. Nothing like some exercise to make your body (and your mind) feel good.

Leave a Reply

