Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/22/16

Monday, coffee, work, humor, end of vacation, dreams, overtime, Modern PhilosopherI know this post is late, Modern Philosophers, but it was my first day back to work in two weeks, and I didn’t trust myself to string together even a couple of sentences given my mental state this morning.

Also, I wanted to take advantage of that sweet, tempting overtime that was still on the table, so I rushed to work as early as possible.

Luckily, my coworkers were kind enough not to press me on my vacation.  When they asked how my vacation was, they accepted my generic answer of “Super!” and welcomed me back to the trenches.

Only only person asked me if my girlfriend had come as planned, and I got out of that one by saying “The tears need to stay away while I’m at work” and scurrying back to my desk.

I had some very wild dreams last night, which seems to be my Sunday ritual.  The one I remember most vividly was an old favorite, which probably popped into my mental movie theater because I was headed back to work.

It was the first day of my Senior year at NYU.  I returned as Dorm President, so everyone knew who I was and warmly welcomed me back.  I went over to my mailbox, collected my mail, and then picked up the packages that awaited me at the front desk.

Life was good, I had an amazing year ahead of me, and the only thing that could ruin it was the stupid alarm clock.

Work wasn’t that bad.  It did take me three attempts to log onto my computer because I’d forgotten the password.  Work Alzheimer’s, as I labeled it, struck me a few times during the day, but that was to be expected after two weeks away from it all.

I’m still very much in screenwriting mode, and had Deep Thoughts about the new screenplay bouncing around in my head all day.  I intend to get at least one scene written tonight after dinner.  The new script is up to 75 pages now!

Monday, coffee, work, humor, end of vacation, overtime, Modern PhilosopherGoing back to work was probably a good thing.  I had too much time to get lost in my thoughts over the past two weeks, and it helped to be around people again and have something else on my mind.

I intend to keep pushing myself to work as much overtime as possible.  I had been working my tail off the last two months so that I could pay for an engagement ring, a perfect first Christmas together, and a 30th Birthday trip to New York in January.

At the moment, I don’t need to worry about any of those expenses, but it would be nice to have some money.

So I’m just going to pile up the hours, keep myself distracted with work, and build up a little nest egg.  That should keep me out of trouble and perhaps prevent the dark clouds from rolling in again.

Hope you all had a great Monday.  There’s still plenty of coffee left so stop by and fill up your cup…

Don’t forget to add the cream and sugar and then follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/22/16

  1. grannyK says:

    I’m glad you made it through Monday! Tomorrow is my Monday. I never know when my Monday is as my schedule changes every dang week and I don’t know what it is until Sunday lol!

  2. There’s nothing worse than going back to work after a holiday, but you handled it well!

Leave a Reply

