He Keeps Going and Going

health, fitness, running, exercise, writing, life, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhat I love about you guys, Modern Philosophers, is the way you’ll check on me when you have a concern.

A few of you emailed because there hasn’t been a running post in a few days.  You were concerned that I’d dropped my new running program already, or that the dark clouds had rolled in and confined me to a life of isolation at The House on the Hill.

I’m happy to report that I am on week four of my new running program, and maintaining a schedule of lacing them up and hitting the road four times a week.

The last two mornings, I’ve gotten up far too early for the weekend, run four miles, and then gone to work to put in some overtime.

Since Monday, I’ve clocked 62 hours at work and four runs of at least three miles (I should clarify that those runs were not done at work!).   In addition, the new screenplay is now over 80 pages.

I’ve been very busy, hence the lack of a new running post.  I was particularly proud of myself for my runs this weekend as it would have been very easy to blow them off because I was working overtime.

The challenge now is to find the right balance in my life.  Yes, there is a gaping void in my schedule now because of the relationship that has vanished, but I’ve quickly filled that time with other activities and I intend to keep myself busy.

running, health, exercise, fitness, mental health, balance, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe better to distract myself, Modern Philosophers, from Deep Thoughts that would attract the dark clouds and be very bad for my morale and self confidence.

So I choose to pack my days and seek out the proper balance.  At the moment, the plan is to run Saturday and Sunday mornings, and then Tuesday and Thursday after work.

I still intend to work overtime, which means getting up early on the weekend to run, and not working as late on Tuesday and Thursday so I still have the energy to get in three miles before exhaustion overpowers me.

How cool is that above picture from this morning’s run?  The sky was so awesome, and I had to capture it, even if it meant I was only in silhouette.

And don’t sweat it.  Those aren’t the dark clouds creeping in on me.

I also make sure to carve out ample time during the week for my new screenplay.  I’m pleased with the progress, and even if I don’t work on it every night, I am constantly scribbling down notes for upcoming scenes.

My mind never takes a break, and right now, it is totally in screenwriting mode.

Yes, my new schedule is exhausting, but this is intentional.  My mental health is just as important as my physical health, and it is essential for me to keep my mind occupied.

The running is doing wonders for my health and self confidence.  The overtime is really helping my bank account.  The new script has forced my Writer Boy persona to wrest control away from the Hopeless Romantic, which means more creativity and less weeping.

health, fitness, running, mental health, life, balance, humor, Modern PhilosopherI don’t think there’s an exact formula for the perfect balance in life.  It’s just something I’ll tinker with through trial and error.

What I know for sure, though, is that I’m smiling more, moping less, and my legs are pretty damn sexy from all this running.

Thanks again to those of you who were worried that I’d hung up my running toga.  My weary legs can attest that this is not at all the case.

I’m just going to keep going…

Why don’t you run over to Pinterest to follow me?  Be sure to stretch first!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to He Keeps Going and Going

  1. markbialczak says:

    No moping, more mopping sweat from the runs and the overtime and the scriptwriting. Good formula, Austin. Wow, that’s a lot of busy, busy, busy, my friend.

    • Austin says:

      It’s the only way to keep myself from thinking non-stop about the Sweet Irish Girl…

      • markbialczak says:

        Does she want you to chase back hard, Austin? Re, the little voices arguing in your head? More importantly, do you want to give it one more big try? You have nothing to lose, the way it stands now. My honest opinion. Not to get you to think non-stop about the Sweet Irish Girl. Just for a few moments to MAKE UP YOUR MIND.

      • Austin says:

        I love her with all my heart. She won’t speak to me, so I can’t chase or do anything…

  2. ksbeth says:

    keep running and you will run into what you seek when you least expect it. when you run, look forward, not back.

  3. Gail says:

    This reminds me of Forest Gump when Jenny left him and he just started running until he didn’t want to run anymore.

Leave a Reply

