Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/29/16

Monday, coffee, work, humor, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI’m so exhausted right now, Modern Philosophers, that I honestly couldn’t tell you if I’m actually writing this post, or just dreaming that I am.

Day eight in a week of non-stop working, and I put in an eleven hour day.  I woke up early, decided there wasn’t enough time to get any decent sleep before the alarm sounded, so I showed up at work at 5:45.

Why not?  The plan is to work as many hours as I can to keep myself distracted, and since that isn’t going well, I clearly need to up my dose of work.

My brain is so tired that not only am I thinking about her all the time, but I also don’t know how to command my brain to shut off those thoughts.

On the bright side, it didn’t even feel like a Monday.  That made me realize that one good thing about working the weekend is that it renders Monday powerless.

And they say I’ve lost it because I’m so tired!

I’m sure I’d have much more to tell you if my brain were functioning at its normal capacity, but I just hear a lot of whistling coming from inside my skull right now.

All I want to do is make some dinner, watch last night’s Fear The Walking Dead, and fall asleep on the couch.

Were I to push myself beyond that, I’d probably get hurt.  I’m klutzy enough as it is when I’m wide awake.

Yes, there is a screenplay that needs to be finished, but tonight is not the night for that.  It’s going to take everything I’ve got left in the tank to figure out how to warm up my dinner in the microwave.

Monday, coffee, work, exhaustion, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m really at that point.

A good night’s sleep is all I need.  I have no intention of reporting for duty at 5:45 again tomorrow morning.  That was a crazy experiment that should never be repeated.

I just remembered that I stopped at the library on the way home tonight.  Wow.  That had completely slipped my mind.  Yeah, I’m losing it.

It looks like rain.  The wind is really picking up.  Maybe I will just sleep on the porch tonight.  How cool would that be?  I’m sleeping in the rain, just sleeping in the rain…

I will spare you anymore of my ridiculous ramblings and bid you a goodnight.

It’s crazy how much my life has changed simply because one person has vanished from it.  When your life revolves around that person, it’s hard to function when the sun is suddenly removed from your galaxy.

I’m just orbiting exhaustion now, Modern Philosophers.

Sleep well!

Follow me on Pinterest if you want.  I’m too tired to even notice right now…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/29/16

  1. Hope you get some rest.

  2. ksbeth says:

    maybe instead of running yourself into the ground, spend that time gently caring for yourself ?

  3. caslee2000 says:

    I hope that a good night’s sleep is on your horizon! In the category of unsought advice: perhaps play the podcast called “Sleep With Me.” It’s bedtime stories to silence the busy dialogue our brains can cook up when we suffer grief, stress, heartbreak, or just the usual busy brain. It might help for a night or two!

  4. Hope I’m not completely misreading you here, but whatever. It’s been three months since I was left. I quit my job just before it happened, haven’t found work since – while I’ve been dealing with the lose. Ironically, I quit to work on the relationship. Jesus christ.

    Anyway, I was in love. Lost them. I couldn’t come to terms with it. There were allot of reason, but, just within the last few days, I found what seems the core of the problem. I thought this person was like me; I thought this person was my soulmate – to be rejected by them was like having my entire world-view, and perception of self, invalidated.

    Then I went over our history for the millionth time, and all the pieces finally started to come together and solidify. I was wrong about them, the entire time. I didn’t fall in love with who they were, but who I imagined them to be. Therefore, I was not rejected by a soulmate, but just someone who took advantage of my affection. So, fuck ’em.

    And lucky you, without their jackassery, I wouldn’t be here now; their heartbreak led me to start a blog on wordpress.

  5. Keep healthy and be well. We all know that exhaustion from working too hard makes things worse.

  6. I can’t like this post. It is the first I’ve read in a while (don’t judge) (OK, judge if you want, who am I to tell somebody what they can and cannot judge), and now I’m worried about you. I have no good advice for you, but a thought which often comforts me is that sometimes you just have to feel that way until you don’t feel that way any more.

Leave a Reply

