Sweat Kills (And Other Running Myths)

running, health, fitness, humor, Modern PhilosopherToday was my eleventh consecutive day of work, Modern Philosophers.

I may not be Cal Ripken quite yet, but I kept my iron man streak going with an eleven hour work day.

When I finally made it home to The House on the Hill, I would’ve been well within my rights to take it easy and spend a relaxing night in front of the TV.

Instead, I put on my running toga, laced up my sneakers and hit the road for a three mile run.  All this, despite knowing full well that sweat kills.

This makes it sixteen runs over the past four weeks.  After a two month layoff to allow my injured leg to heal, I have adhered to a strict four day a week running schedule.

Don’t worry, Modern Philosophers, I’m just as surprised as you are.

Let’s face it, I have a horrible track record when it comes to running.  It’s not my favorite activity, I’m prone to injury, and if I don’t see the weight melting off me immediately, I get frustrated and decide to quit.

So what’s different this time?  Why have I stuck with my evil running plan despite the fact that running burns brain cells and causes early onset runner’s madness?

I just had to make changes in my life.  There needs to be more structure, more taking responsibility for the way I look and feel, and less wallowing in self pity.

I hate running, but it builds confidence.  Even if the weight doesn’t come off immediately, the mere fact that I know I’m kicking ass out on the road makes me feel better about myself.  Because I pushed myself on a day when it would’ve been perfectly acceptable to stay home and let my body rest, I now think that I can do anything.

health, running, confidence, exercise, relationships, humor, Modern PhilosopherTo be honest, Modern Philosophers, I feel like I could head to the airport right now, book a flight to Dublin with all my overtime money, and confidently make a case to the love of my life that it’s time to get our lives back in order.

That’s a huge change from four weeks ago when I couldn’t stop crying or leave the house.

Do you know what else I’ve realized?  I’m okay with not getting on that plane and confronting her.

She’s needs to come to me and make this right.

That is what running does for me.  It forces me to see my life from an entirely different and totally sweaty perspective.  Yes, I miss her dearly and love her with all my heart, but I tried to fix this and she turned her back on me.

I’m confident that she will make the right decision and pick up the phone to call me.  It may not be tomorrow or anytime soon, but it will happen.

And if it doesn’t?  Well, I will find a way to move forward with my life.  Perhaps only in painfully slow three mile bursts, but I will keep advancing.

running, fitness, health, philosophy, life, humot, Modern PhilosopherEveryone knows that running slowly crushes your bones and causes you to shrink over time, but I still do it.  Not because I want to, but because when you’ve lost everything that matters, the only thing that’s left to lose is all that excess weight.

Running makes your eyes bounce around in your head so much that you will eventually not be able to see straight, but it’s still a great way to get your body and mind back in shape.

I hate running, but I went for a run today because I want my life to be better…

After you go for a run, follow me on Pinterest.  Maybe shower first, though…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweat Kills (And Other Running Myths)

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    Don’t know what happened, but I think that running or any exercise is a great way to help face that kind of heartache, Good luck!

  2. Exercise is wonderful therapy. Gets the endorphins flowing. Regardless of the outcome of your broken relationship, I believe you will be just fine, Austin. I hope your dreams become your reality, but until that happens, keep running, keep writing, and keep believing in yourself. Hugs.

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    Well all the best to you sir, you certainly sound more uplifted and vibrant. I’ll drink to that, even if I am not running to it!

  4. Lutheranliar says:

    First, I love this (no doubt intentional) pun: ‘I have a horrible track record when it comes to running.’
    Second, you are spot on when you speak of running being a ‘way to move forward’ with your life. I ran for years and years — for my head as well as my body — and when my back decided it was through with running, I switched to walking and swimming. Both give me the time for uninterrupted free-form thinking that I crave — and require for my sanity. May your running only take you to good places. And if the ‘love of your life’ doesn’t realize what a gem you are, well, then just keep running onward and mentally upward.

Leave a Reply

