Monday Morning Coffee Club: Labor Day 2016

Labor Day, Monday, coffee, humor, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherHappy Labor Day, Modern Philosophers!

I’m happy to report that I’m celebrating the holiday properly by not working.  After thirteen consecutive days of punching the time clock, I’ve actually allowed myself to go two consecutive days without work.

A true victory for the American worker!

It is a gorgeous Monday in Maine.  If this is the traditional final weekend of Summer, the season is definitely going out in style.

I took advantage of the holiday to get in an extra run this morning.  This is the first time I’ve run three straight days all Summer, so it was a bit of a struggle.  I could say I purposely labored on my run to keep with the spirit of the holiday.  The bottom line is I survived and it was my nineteenth run in the last thirty-one days.  Not a bad month, considering I had taken two months off because of a leg injury.

As always, I had a crazy Sunday night dream.  My mind movie conjured up a traditional favorite, but this time, there was a twist.

Once again, I dreamed I was in the restaurant where I worked to put myself through college.  This time, however, I was there as a customer instead of as an employee.  Finally!

My old boss recognized me, welcomed me warmly, and took my order.  I decided to go with a bacon cheeseburger for those of you keeping score at home.

What does that dream mean, Modern Philosophers?  For decades I’ve had the recurring nightmare that I’m back waiting and busing tables in that place, and this is the first time I’ve ever been allowed to return as a customer.

Monday, coffee, Labor Day, humor, Modern PhilosopherPerhaps it’s my mind’s way of celebrating Labor Day.  Maybe my subconscious is trying to tell me I’m working too much.

I just wish I had gotten to eat the burger before I woke up.  It looked damn delicious!

There’s also been a lot of progress on the screenwriting front.  The new script is at 85 pages, and I spent the weekend going back to page 1 and making edits.

I’ve described my screenwriting process to you guys many times.  I never use an outline, I only have a vague idea of where the story is going, and I edit on the fly.

At 85 pages, I now have a very clear picture of who my characters are and who they needed to be back at the beginning of the story in order for their arcs to work and make sense.

This means going back to the start and rewriting scenes, adding character traits that have developed over the last 85 pages, and altering dialogue to fit what the story has become.

It might sound confusing to you, but it all makes perfect sense to me.  Looking forward to getting more work done today.

No, things aren’t okay on the personal front.  I’m still dealing with the issue that has me all confused and withdrawn, but I think I’m making progress.  Thank you to everyone who has checked in with me and been so supportive.

That’s about it for now.  I’ve given the interns the day off, so I need to figure out how to make my own lunch.  Have a great Labor Day!

Celebrate Labor Day the traditional way…by following my on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Labor Day 2016

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    So pleased to hear about your run and also about the day off! I can’t imagine working thirteen consecutive days without a rest on the weekend. Weekends are my beacons of hope, the only times I get to shut my eyes! Aaa! Well, here is to a thoroughly restful holiday and plenty of running *raises glass of ice cold water*

  2. I ran for the third day in a row, too. But I couldn’t say how many times in the last 30 days without some research. I LOVE to run, although sometimes before I actually go on the run I forget that. Excellent for your progress on the screenplay. I must begin seriously writing again myself.

  3. Screenwriting fascinates me, so I’m glad I have you to learn from. When(if) I write fiction, I just go with the flow, too. I think it’s a great way o get to know your characters – they work the story instead of the story working them (I think).
    I am so sorry that I’ve been gone for too long. I’m working backward through your posts, so I know I’ll be caught up soon. I’m sorry that your personal life is less than happy. You only deserve the best. xo

    • Austin says:

      Thank you so much1

      I’m working on the script now and rewriting a pivotal scene. It’s crazy where the characters take me when I just let them start talking. I had no idea the scene would go in this direction…

      • That’s where the magic happens, Austin! Congrats on all of your running, too. You have officially inspired me!

      • Austin says:

        I’m glad to hear that. Are you a runner?

      • Two marathons and multiple half-marathons under my belt. I broke my foot during a triathlon 4 years ago and I’ve struggled every since – knee surgery, blood clot, etc. Just this summer am I starting to get a routine again. It almost makes me cry when I remember calling a 13-miler a “short run.”
        But, I’ll be back. Even if it’s only 3 miles 4 times/week…that’s better than not being able to at all, right?

      • Austin says:

        Wow! I am even more impressed with you than I was already! 🙂

      • Ha! I should have mentioned how I had to shuffle just to make it through!!

      • Austin says:

        Well, that’s more than I’ve ever done. I’ve never entered a race in my life.

        I’d love to do a triathlon, but the whole not being able to swim thing might lead to my death…

  4. Jennifer says:

    How appropriate to be laboring over your script today.

Leave a Reply

