Sports Night (With Wings)

Yankees, Jets, Sports Night, relaxing, humor, Modern PhilosopherHave you ever watched Sports Night, Modern Philosophers?

It was Aaron Sorkin’s first TV show, and it focused on the behind the scenes antics at an ESPN type network.  Great writing.  Fun characters.  A show that was canceled way too soon.

If you haven’t seen it, check it out.

I’m having a sports night of my own at The House on the Hill, but my version has chicken wings.

All day long, as I trudged through another eleven hour day, my mind was focused on picking up wings on the way home, and then crashing on the couch to relax with a great night of sports on TV.

Yankees vs Red Sox at 7:00.

Jets vs Bills at 8:25.

Austin vs Chicken Wings whenever this blog post is done.

After working all this overtime and struggling with a broken heart for a solid month now, I really need a night of mindless fun.

And chicken wings!

chicken wings, food, sports, humor, Modern Philosopher

Many chicken wings were harmed during the writing of this blog post!

As I write this post out on the porch, I am decked out in my Jets jersey and Yankees cap.  I am all set for a night of New York sports thrills and action, even though I know I’ll probably fall asleep on the couch before halftime.

But I’ll fall asleep with a smile on my face.

And that face with be stained with chicken wings sauce.

For those of you who worry that all I do lately is work, the first thing I have to say is that you should’ve seen today’s paycheck.

I’ve got more than enough cash now to buy back all those hours of sleep I’ve sacrificed in the name of working hard for the money.

So hard for it honey…

Flashdance, humor, Modern Philosopher

Don’t worry, that’s not me in the Flashdance shot!

The second thing I have to say is that I’m doing perfectly fine.  I’m still finding the time to write, and even though I might have “forgotten” to run this week, I will get back out on the road again this weekend.

Progress is definitely being made on the new screenplay, and I’ve churned out a few blog posts for your enjoyment.

But all that really matters today is that my exhausted mind is ready for some football and baseball.  Go Yankees!  Go Jets!

Go chicken wings!

There will definitely be a sense of satisfaction when I sit down to watch the games tonight.  I know I’ve put in a hard day’s work.  I’m holding my life together even though my heart is smashed to bits.  I’ve got a little extra money in the bank for a rainy day.

Yankees, humor, Modern PhilosopherGiven what’s going on in my head and where my heart used to be, I’d say that things at The House on the Hill are much better than could be expected.

Enough of this writing.  Let’s eat!

And, seriously, if you’ve never seen Sports Night, you should check it out.

Follow me on Pinterest.  I might share my wings with you…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sports Night (With Wings)

  1. adamjasonp says:

    Oh, the satisfaction of wings… can never have just one.

  2. mmmmm…. wings. My husband liked that show but I never caught it (I was in the Army and my schedule at the time precluded normal TV watching) (long story, not very interesting). I’m glad you’re looking forward to your evening

  3. rmlenzi says:

    sports, wings … and Sports Night! That was a great show!

Leave a Reply

