Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/19/16

Monday, work, coffee, humor shopping spree, WalMart, Darth Vader, Modern PhilosopherThere was no need to check the calendar today, Modern Philosophers.  It was definitely a Monday.

I got to work at 5:45, ready to kick some ass.  About an hour and a half later, though, I made an annoying discovery…I’d somehow managed to tear my pants.

The rip was in a very sensitive spot, to put it politely, and there was no way I was going to last another ten hours with that sort of wardrobe malfunction.

Luckily, The House on the Hill it not far from the office, so I flew home, changed pants, said hi to the kitties, and sped back to my eternal post at my desk.

The trip only took half an hour, but it threw my whole day off track.  Plus, the voices in my head spent the rest of the day arguing about whether I should stop at Walmart on the way home to buy new pants.

Some of the voices were all for it, eager to spend a portion of the overtime money that that almost literally burned a whole in my pocket.  Other voices wanted to wait until the weekend when I was last tired.  Still others wanted me to just wear shorts to work every day and screw the dress code entirely.

The voices that wanted to go on a shopping spree were the loudest, so I made a pit stop at Wally World on the way home.  Monday night is a great time to hit Walmart, apparently, since the place was pretty much dead.

I got a couple of new pairs of work pants, some long sleeve work shirts because winter is coming, and one unexpected item.

As you can see from the opening photo in this post, I somehow ended up purchasing an awesome Star Wars tee shirt when I was only supposed to be buying work clothes.

Clearly, the Force is strong in this Walmart!

Monday, coffee, work, wardrobe malfunction, humor, shopping spree, Modern PhilosopherI got some pretty good deals, and totally bulked up my work wardrobe for the colder months.

Plus, I got to bring home Darth Vader and a little Imperial propaganda to boot!

So even though that torn pair of pants really could’ve put me in a mood and attracted the dark clouds for a major storm, I found the silver lining and turned it into fun.

Now it’s after eight o’ clock, and I’m just sitting down to relax and watch Fear the Walking Dead.  Nothing like a little Zombie time to help me mellow.

I sometimes feeling like I’m turning into an Overtime Zombie, but I’m happy to report that I’m still among the living, Modern Philosophers.

Sure, work is slowly killing me, but I’ve got the voices in my head to keep me sane in the meantime.  And I’ve got an awesome new Star Wars tee shirt.

Yeah, it was a Monday, but so what?

There’s still plenty of coffee.  Grab a cup and just let the rest of the day slip away until there’s nothing left but a Tuesday full of promise!

Follow me on Pinterest, or you might tear your pants!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/19/16

  1. celiamae says:

    Honestly went to Walmart last night as well and meant to just get boxes and tape for my move. Ended up looking at clothes and buying a flannel! One does not simply go to Walmart and buy only what they need. 😂

Leave a Reply

