I’m Getting Forgetful In Your Old Age

birthdays, relationships, love, humor, memories, Modern PhilosopherI realized something interesting today, Modern Philosophers.  I forgot that today was The Girl Who Moved Away’s birthday.

You remember The Girl Who Moved Away, right?  She’s the whole reason this blog exists.  I loved her very much, but I encouraged her to chase her dream.  Even though I knew it would break my heart and bring the dark clouds.

Shortly after she moved away for school, she insisted that I start this blog to distract me from how much I missed her.  For the longest time this blog was about how much I loved her, missed her, and hoped she wouldn’t forget me.

She appeared in the blog as both The Girl Who Moved Away and as the Archangel Rachel, my guardian angel.  Over time, I wrote about her less and less.  Eventually, the Archangel vanished, the blog moved in another direction, and I fell in love with a Sweet Irish Girl.

Now, she is The Doctor Who Moved Away and married to someone other than me.

Despite all this, I never thought I’d forgot about this woman, who I once loved so much.

But as I was scrolling through Facebook on my break this morning, I saw a post from a mutual friend wishing her a Happy Birthday.

I couldn’t believe that I’d forgotten.  I have a steel trap of a memory, and it boggles my mind that the significance of today’s date completely slipped my mind.

I suppose it’s a good thing.  A sign that I’ve moved on.

But I’m still upset with myself.

I’ve been upset at The Girl Who Moved Away for leaving me in the dust.  We had promised that we’d always stay in touch, forever be friends, and never lose track of each other.  No matter where our lives took us.

humor, plhilosophy, relationships, love, Modern PhilosopherI mean, she has Opus and my beloved NYU Baseball sweatshirt.  When you entrust someone with such treasures, you expect her to always be in your life.

While I’m no longer in love with her, she will always have a special place in my heart.  I’m a bit sad today that her birthday was not at all on my radar.  I don’t want to forget her, even if she’s chosen to forget me.

Maybe when January rolls around, I’ll forget about another important birthday, but I doubt that will happen.  I’m still hopelessly in love with the woman who turns 30 that month, just two days after my special day.

Happy Birthday, Rachel. 

I’m sorry I forgot today was your birthday.  Thank you for making me start this blog, and I hope that you don’t mind that I’ve finally revealed your name after almost four years.

It was finally time, and there’s no need to hide your identity any longer, Birthday Girl.

I truly wish you the best and hope life is treating you well.  You are dearly missed at The House on the Hill, and I am a better man because you once chose to love me.

What do you think, Modern Philosophers?  Is it a good thing that I forgot her birthday?  Or should we always hold on to the important memories like the birthdays of those we once loved?

If you follow me on Pinterest, I’ll try to remember your birthday…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I’m Getting Forgetful In Your Old Age

  1. Lydia says:

    Yes, I think it’s a good thing. I’ve forgotten similar things about people I lost touch with a long time ago. It’s a normal part of life in my opinion.

  2. ksbeth says:

    yes, i think it’s a positive sign of moving on and being open once again

  3. Josh Wrenn says:

    Always good to let go of that which does not serve you/. It does take time though, so don’t beat yourself over not being able to for more recent events.

  4. I’ll be damned. I thought she was The Girl Who Went Away, not Moved Away. But we all know I’m getting old. I’m probably old enough for you and all your readers to lose your memories. I think this is a sign you have moved on and that is good. I wouldn’t worry about January until at least December, though.

  5. Thank you for this heartfelt post, Austin! Forgetting her birthday this one time does not have to signify anything. It could have been simply circumstantial. And there are likely multiple markers of your moving-on status, each living in its own fluctuating state. We don’t need to assign more meaning to events than they deserve. Clearly you have continued to evolve in this relationship with her. And let’s be clear, as long as she holds a part of your consciousness, no matter how small, you will be in relationship with her. It’s okay. Take it lightly. Keep moving. 😊

  6. Lutheranliar says:

    Dear Dear One. Yes! It is indeed a good thing that you forgot her birthday. But it is an equally good thing that you then acknowledged it. And in public too. As my mother would say, ‘you are a gentleman and a scholar’.

  7. Gail says:

    It’s always better to move forward and not back.

  8. I think it’s a good thing you forgot her birthday. Life moves on. But isn’t it funny we can invest so much emotional energy in someone and then – poof – they don’t matter to us any more!

Leave a Reply

