Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/26/16

Monday, coffee, humor, The Nite Show, Donald Trump, Modern PhilosopherJust made the mortgage payment, Modern Philosophers, and now I’m squeezing in some time to finally write my Monday morning post.

I didn’t want you to think I’d forgotten about you, because you are always on my mind.

It’s just much busier than usual at The House on the Hill lately.  I put in an eleven and a half hour day today at the desk job, and now I need to write monologue jokes for Wednesday night’s Season Premiere taping of The Nite Show with Danny Cashman!

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, the new TV season has begun and The Nite Show is back in production.  I spent the weekend cranking out pages of monologue jokes for the first two shows, and now I need to tackle show number three.

Can you believe that there are a lot of Donald Trump jokes in my submissions?

Well, the man is everywhere and if you add him to any scenario, it just makes it much funnier.  I don’t want the man to become President, but he certainly makes writing monologue jokes a lot easier.

Thanks, you big buffoon!

The Nite Show, TV, writing, Monday, coffee, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m very excited to see my old Nite Show friends, hang out with our awesome audience, and make a little TV magic.  It will definitely break the monotony of doing my desk job, and I certainly need the social interaction.  And the laughs.

Plus, nothing makes me feel more confident than writing.  The start of the new season could not have come at a better time!

Between working overtime and writing monologue jokes this weekend (and watching my teams lose every game they played!), I managed to get a nice chunk of work done on the new screenplay.

It’s at 99 pages now, and I’m perilously close to completing the first draft.  I’m very excited about how well the script is coming, and I’m looking forward to having a few trusted friends give it a read.  Will you be one of them?

I’ve definitely been in full Writer Boy mode lately.  Nice.

Before I paid the mortgage tonight, I went around the upstairs of The House on the Hill and put down all the storm windows.

Summer abandoned Maine quite quickly, Modern Philosophers, and it’s getting very chilly at night.  The return of my old nemesis Snow Miser cannot be too far off now.

Thank goodness the interns made all this coffee.  We need to stay warm and focus on autumn.  No need to jump ahead to the Ice Age.  We still have time.

Sorry to have to wrap this up so quickly, but my tummy demands food, and then Danny demands monologue jokes.

Hope you all had an awesome Monday.  Blog to you again real soon…

I’m too tired to chase you, so please follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/26/16

  1. Gail says:

    New England really was cold today. Let’s see if the debate tonight gives me another chill or makes me sweat.

  2. rmlenzi says:

    Gotta ask – where are you in Maine? I lived in Portland, Freeport and Brunswick for seven years.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I was reading this thinking, you’re not a native New Englander if you said all your sports teams lost this weekend because all my teams won. Got to the bottom and saw my answer to that. I forgot that you were from NY

  4. Thank you for this. I’m on 10 hour days, in a play and helping out with a couple of other community events, but reading this reminds me: I have NO excuse to not write more. I think I’ll make that the topic of the blog post I am currently procrastinating. I look forward to reading the rejected jokes, if any. Rock on!

  5. Pingback: A New Start on Tired Tuesday | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

