The Wrong Melissa

humor, relationships, hope, life, Modern PhilosopherSomething intriguing happened at The House on the Hill last night, Modern Philosophers.

It was the sort of occurrence that reminded me this place is magical, justified why I never give up on someone who has touched my heart, and went a long way towards explaining why I will forever be a hopeless romantic.

I was exhausted.

Wednesday have been a ridiculously long day.  I got to the office at 6AM and left The Nite Show taping at 10PM.  Then I worked an eleven hour day yesterday.

All I wanted to do when I got home was veg on the couch, watch the Yankees game, and eat the ice cream I’d picked up on my way home from work.

I was sitting on the couch and writing on my laptop, just like I am now, when there was a knock at the door.

Unexpected visitors to The House on the Hill are nothing new.  It’s just that they usually don’t knock because they all feel so at home here.

So I was definitely curious to see who was out on my porch.

When I opened the front door, I was taken by surprise.

Standing there was a beautiful 29 year old woman, who meant a great deal to me, but who hadn’t spoken to me or visited The House in the Hill in far too long.

humor, relationships, love, reconciliation, life, Modern PhilosopherShe could tell I was stunned to see her as I invited her into my home, where she would forever be welcome.

She told me that she missed me, that she was sorry for not talking to me for so long, and that she wanted to be a part of my life again.

It was Melissa.

While I was thrilled to see her, and gave her a huge hug because I’d missed her so much, she wasn’t the Melissa with whom I was most desperate to reconcile.

In other words, it wasn’t the Sweet Irish Girl.

Nevertheless, I was so excited to see my old friend after three years.  We immediately fell back into old rhythms as we caught up with each other.  She mocked me for falling in love with a woman who shared the same name, and demanded to see a picture because she was curious to see if they looked alike.

For the record, they do not.

Melissa told me that Melissa was very pretty.

With that same surprise that everyone has in their voice when they see a photo of her.  Why are people so astonished that a beautiful woman could fall in love with me?

How is it that two people can be apart for three years, but instantly act like they had only seen each other the previous day?  That’s worthy of a few hours of Deep Thought for sure.

Situations like this are why I never give up on anyone.

love, relationships, reconciliation, humor, Modern PhilosopherSomething similar happened after Rachel moved away for school.  I hadn’t seen her in about a year, and she just knocked on the door one night and my heart melted.  For that one magic evening, it was like she had never moved away.

If you’ve earned a special place in my heart, The House on the Hill will always be open to you.  I’m not someone who can close off my heart to a person who once possessed it.

Sure, I was upset at Melissa for disappearing from my life, but I was so happy to see her that I couldn’t hold on to any anger.  What would be the point?  She came back, she apologized, and she said that she missed me.

She used to be my best friend.  I wasn’t going to turn my back on her when she took the giant step of showing up and perhaps opening herself up to my venting three years’ worth of pent up hostility on her.

Besides, she plied me with rum.

I never drink rum.  Unless Melissa makes me.

She showed me her engagement ring (how could this be a story about a Melissa without an engagement ring being involved???) and I was so happy for her.  I am a big fan of the people I care about living happily ever after.

So when people wonder why I don’t just write the Sweet Irish Girl out of my life, they need only to look at what happened last night.

I’m not sitting here crying over her and wishing that she were here.

I’m living my life and learning to be okay on my own again.

In the back of my mind, however, I know that, eventually, long lost special someones end up back on the porch of The House on the Hill.

I don’t know how or why it happens.

home, love, relationships, magic, humor, Modern PhilosopherMaybe it has something to do with the place’s resident.

Perhaps it’s just magic.

All I know for sure is that I never give up hoping or dreaming because there’s always  the possibility of that knock on the door.

Next time, it might be the right Melissa…

You don’t need to be a hopeless romantic to follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Wrong Melissa

  1. ksbeth says:

    you and the house are magnets

  2. You’ve got a big, forgiving heart Austin. Bless you. 😊

  3. Gilly says:

    Oh come on the right Melissa! Get on a damn plane and get back to a man who clearly loves you!!!! What a lovely house you have and what a lovely sensitive man lives inside (IMO) – and those things are hard to find. I was lucky enough to get the one of the last available sensitive but manly men in the UK 15 years ago, so Melissa needs to get her backside to the US fast. And as for the wrong Melissa, are you sure she only wanted to tell you she was engaged? Is she really happy? Wow – this is like a serial romance novel. Write some more 😀.

    • Austin says:

      Thanks, Gilly. Maybe someday, Sweet Irish Melissa will miss me and remember how much she loves me. She’s always welcome here, and I hope she realizes that…

Leave a Reply

