Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/3/16

Monday, coffee, humor, work, writing, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI’ve been told by reliable sources, Modern Philosophers, that all good things must come to an end.

Don’t panic…I’m not announcing the end of this blog.

Breathe.  I’m not going anywhere.

However, what is going away is the All You Can Work Overtime Buffet at my office.

Gone, effective immediately, are my delicious sixty hour work weeks.  Gone, far too soon, are paychecks so large they couldn’t fit in my wallet.

I’m curious to see what it will be like when they try to get us to do sixty hours of work in only forty hours.  Now that’s a magic trick that could be either very exciting, or potentially disastrous.

While I’ll miss working until I can’t hold up my head any longer, this change could not come at a better time.

I realized this weekend, after stupidly buying a new scale, and then stupider still, actually standing on it, that I need to start running again.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to fit running into a packed schedule, but now instead of getting up at the butt crack of dawn to work, I can get up to run.  But I’m only going to do it a couple of mornings a week.  To see how it goes.

money, Monday, coffee, work, humor, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI am looking forward to sleeping more and working less, even if it does mean less money in the coffers.

I definitely will miss the way it rained money at The House on the Hill for almost four months.

This will also give me more time to work on the new screenplay.  Progress slowed last week because of The Nite Show taping, but I cranked out new pages yesterday.

I’m at 102 pages now, and the third act is really kicking into gear.  The great thing is that I actually have some idea of what’s going to happen.  I’m notorious for having no idea how to end my scripts, but this time, I have something of an idea where the story is headed.

There’s a first for everything, right?

Can you believe it’s already October?  That really crept up on me.  This month is huge in Maine as Otherworldly Creatures from this dimension and others flock to Maine to celebrate Halloween.

Hopefully, I’ll now have some time to write about the festivities for you.

Well, it’s back to watching Fear The Walking Dead for me.  It’s really not Monday unless I get in my Zombie time.

Help yourself to the coffee.  Enjoy the rest of your Monday!

If you follow me on Pinterest, Mondays will feel shorter…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/3/16

  1. Personally I would always rather have time than money. That said, I continue on overtime myself, because regardless of my preferences, I need the money. I can’t help thinking that your recent illness was a result of too much work, but of course I’m no medical expert. Yes, definitely get back to running. I am slowly getting back into that routine myself and it is WONDERFUL. However, since my work day begins at 4:30 a.m., I shall be running after work. Rock on.

  2. ksbeth says:

    i’ve come to the point in my life where time is worth much more than the extra money. enjoy your time

  3. grannyK says:

    It sounds like whatever illness you had yesterday is gone? I hope so, but it’s sad that you had it on Sunday! Have a great week!

  4. I wish I could run…bad knee…but I walk very fast every day. It’s my best thinking time and often inspiration for my daily blog. Good luck. Happy running.

Leave a Reply

