Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/10/16

Monday, coffee, work, politics, humor, Modern PhilosopherHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

It’s a little nippy in Maine today, so I almost wish that I drank coffee.  A big cup of java would probably warm me up real nice.

The mere thought of cold weather depresses me.  Any inkling of the return of Winter could set off my Post Traumatic Snow Disorder, and I’m not sure I can handle having that additional problem piled onto the ever growing heap right now.

I did fill out the forms at work today to request heating assistance.  That depressed me because the plan had been for the Sweet Irish Girl to be living here this Winter, and with two salaries, I wouldn’t have to stress about the heating bill.  Plus, we were going to have all the windows at The House on the Hill replaced to keep us snuggly warm no matter what Snow Miser threw at us.

So the trickle down effect of losing the love of my life is becoming even more evident.

And that sucks.  Just like a Monday should.

Wow!  This post got super depressing very quickly.

That’s what happens when the voices in my head dictate what gets typed onto the page.  Apparently, today’s strong winds blew my thoughts across the ocean, where they really shouldn’t stray right now.

Okay, Austin.  Focus.

I didn’t stay up to watch the debate last night.  Couldn’t handle the nightmares I know it would have caused.

Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump, politics, debate, Monday, coffee, humor, Modern PhilosopherSo, can you guys do me a favor and catch me up on what happened?  Who won?  Did Trump hold it together or make things worse?  Did Hillary do a happy dance and just let her opponent implode?

Please tell me all about it in the comments section.  I need to be informed so I can make the proper choice on Election Day.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian readers.

If anyone has any leftover stuffing, please feel free to send it my way care of The House on the Hill Maine USA.  Thank you.

We put up some Halloween decorations at work today, which improved my mood momentarily.  I am a big fan of the holiday, so it was nice to see the place beginning to look a little more like a haunted house, and less like the place that haunts my nightmares.

Other than that, not much to report from Maine today.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing.  It is Monday, after all.

Have some coffee.  Stay warm.  Stop thinking about Ireland!

Really, please tell me your thoughts on the debate.  I need something to keep me entertained and informed, and I’m afraid to read the official reports.

Until next time…

Follow me on Pinterest and improve my mood!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/10/16

  1. Claudia says:

    I couldn’t bear to watch the debate either. I gave,myself a sinus headache and went to bed.

  2. The debate…remember in the 90s, when Bush and Perot were debating? And it sounded like two older politicians talking about stuff? Last night’s debate was a shadow of those days. They were discussing things that had nothing to do with the questions, which isn’t unusual. But…it was like two people who used to be in love way back in college who just found each other again. He just never forgave her for stealing his favorite sweater, and she was still bitter from when he stood her up on her 19th birthday. So, the rest of the debate was slinging as much mud as possible while at the same time trying to look humanly personable to the audience. It was awkward and I was drunk and depressed by the end of it.

  3. Holly says:

    I switched over to watch the debates on Univision. I could only understand a quarter of what they were saying, and that’s when the captions worked, but it was much easier to take rhetoric when delivered in another language.

  4. Anticlimactic, The Songify two minute recap on Youtube will tell you all you need to know and you won’t feel the need to shower afterwards.

Leave a Reply

