Running Into Some Color And A Better Attitude

health, fitness, running, mental health, color run, attitude, fall foliage, hope, humor, Modern PhilosopherI have to admit, Modern Philosophers, that this post was supposed to be a total downer.

As I prepared for my morning run, I mentally outlined the post I was going to write upon my return.

The plan was for an article on how I’ve lost hope, can’t stop thinking about The Sweet Irish Girl, how I have no motivation, and the fact that there was nothing on the horizon to indicate that any of this would change.

I set out for a three mile run, my eighth run in the last two weeks, and figured I’d write it in my head to distract me from how much I hate running.

Then I turned onto Eastern Avenue, the street on which I spend a majority of my run, and stumbled right into the middle of a color run/walk for charity.

Of course, I was going the wrong way, so I was suddenly charging into a wall of people, which caught everyone by surprise.

They were all happy and determined.  I was miserable and cranky.

I noticed the color station just ahead, and quickly fought through the crowd to get to the other side of the street, which was safely monochrome.

health, fitness, running, color run, charity, fall foliage, humor, Modern Philosopherhealth, fitness, running, walking, charity, color run, humor, philosophy, Modern Philosopher

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most of the participants wore tee shirts with the name of the cause on the front, but those shirts had since been covered in a variety of colors, so I couldn’t make out the name.

There were a lot of folks running with dogs, though, so it made me think that this color run/walk might have been for animals.

Regardless, the unexpected shake up to my running routine left me flustered.  I was suddenly on the wrong side of the street, I was constantly on the look out for color stations to dodge, and there were just so many people watching me and my fitness struggle.

I stopped for a moment to catch my breath and get a handle on the situation, and that was when I realized that the colors were not only on the shirts of event’s participants.

Eastern Avenue had exploded with fall foliage colors, and I was about the run right past it without even taking the time to admire it.

health, fitness, exercis, running, mental health, fall foliage, Maine, humor, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI pulled out my phone to snap a few photos.  As always, I had to make sure there were a few selfies in the batch.

After all, I do enjoy driving my friends crazy on Facebook with annoying photos of me on my runs.

I know the famous quote is about stopping to smell the roses, but this is Maine in autumn, so I did a little rewrite and decided to stop to enjoy the fall foliage.

And you know what, Modern Philosophers?  It truly helped.  Suddenly, I wasn’t just trudging down the road begrudgingly getting in my three miles.

Now I was just a guy outside enjoying a gorgeous autumn day.  It’s crazy what that quick change in my thought process did for my attitude.

The pressure to push myself a little harder was gone.  I no longer cared about the stop watch running on my phone.  It didn’t matter that there was no one waiting for me back at The House on the Hill.

I was taking in my surroundings and realizing how lucky I am to live in Maine.

Clearly, there is so much in my life that I cannot control, but I do have the ability to slow down things, open my eyes, and look at the beauty all around me.

fall foliage, Maine, mental health, exercise, fitness, running, humor, Modern PhilosopherAt one point, a police car pulled up next to me, and the officer asked me if I was a part of the race because I was headed in the wrong direction.

I smiled and explained that I was just a citizen out for a run, and thanked him for checking on me.

The thing of it was, Modern Philosophers, I wasn’t headed in the wrong direction at that point.  For the first time in a few months, I felt like I finally I had myself back on course.

I’m glad that I accidentally wandered into all that color because my life was getting a little dull…

If you enjoyed this post, please use the buttons below to share it with your friends.  Add a little color to their lives, too!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Running Into Some Color And A Better Attitude

  1. donedreaming says:

    Cheering you on Maine Man. It’s a beautiful world out there and especially in your neck of the woods. Keep posting photos of the beautiful fall foliage for us city folk x

  2. Claudia says:

    I love when blogs turn out like that! I once wrote something that turned into so much of a downer I came back a few minutes later, deleted the contents, and let my unicorn write an apology. You are a fun writer, and the world is beautiful around us!

Leave a Reply

