Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/17/16

Monday, coffee, pizza, weather, humor, Modern PhilosopherAll you really want to know about this Monday, Modern Philosophers, is that it’s nice enough outside for me to be writing out on the porch after work.

What a gorgeous day when just last week, I had the heat on and added a second comforter to the bed because the temperature had dropped to 20 degrees.

This weather is as crazy as a Trump supporter trying to explain why his man should be our next President.

It was a very long day at work, and I’m ready for bed already.  Of course, I’m not 4, so I really can’t be tucking myself in at this hour, but it’s a tempting idea.

We did have a pizza party at work today.  The boss treated us to lunch to thank us for all the hard work we put in during that period of Severe Overtime.

It was good pizza, too, not the cheap $5 deal from Little Caesar’s.  While a thank you and a pat on the back is always nice, free food is exponentially more appreciated.

I managed to get a lot of writing done this weekend.  The first draft of the new screenplay is very close to completion.  I’m in the midst of writing the climactic fight scene where the killer comes to finish off my oddball band of heroes.

Just trying to work out the mental choreography.  As I’ve never killed anyone before, it always takes some extra time for me to plot out the final murder in a script to make sure it isn’t a total letdown.

Sometimes, I scare myself at how creative I can get, and I blame that all on my strict Catholic upbringing.  Finally, those Nuns were good for something!

The Devil, short story, flash fiction, Halloween, Donald Trump, Hillary Clinton, politics, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was also a big fan of last night’s entry in the Sundays With Satan Short Story Series.  Have you read it yet?

Entitled “Hell Is A Red State”, I think it is The Devil and I at our finest.  It’s been fun finding new and creative ways to comment on the upcoming election, and my time with The Prince of Darkness is the perfect opportunity to get in some really good barbs.

The Sunday short story is my favorite feature on the blog, and I’ve been giving some serious thought lately to turning my adventures with Satan into a novel.

Would any of you be interested in a feature length story based upon the short story series?  I’d love a little feedback on that if you have a few minutes after you read this.

I have pitched our misadventures as a web series to my Producer friend, and every week I write a new short story, I think that it could lead to something even bigger.

Well, it’s getting a little too dark out here to write, and the interns are getting annoyed that I’m making them stand around me holding candles.  They say the dripping wax is burning their skin.  What a bunch of wimps!

I hope you all had a great Monday.  I’ll be back with more silliness very soon!

Following me on Pinterest will make your Monday a Hell of a lot more exciting!  Trust me on that one!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

