When The Bladder’s Half Full

After Dinner Mints, work, life, stress, work humor, Modern Philosopher, Halt & Catch FireIt was a long, draining week at the office, Modern Philosophers.  I really don’t like to bring the place with the desks and time clock into this world, so you’ll just have to take my word that life outside of The House on the Hill was challenging over the last five days.

Which is why I really shouldn’t leave the safety of my basement bunker.  Where’s my gas mask?

I don’t have much left in the tank for you tonight, but I wanted to dash off a quick After Dinner Mints post so you know I’m still thinking about you.

In the midst of a stressful day, I was distracted from my laser sharp focus long enough to hear my coworker tell a patient that she needed to show up for a test with a full bladder.

This led me to remember a similar phone conversation I had maybe a year ago.

I scheduled a patient for some imaging, and after the hospital employee gave me the appointment information she said, “Make sure the patient shows up with a full bladder”.

Without a moment’s hesitation, I countered with, “Does it have to be his own?”

There was a long silence, as if the woman on the other end of the line was actually checking with someone about what I’d asked.  She finally replied, “It would probably be best if it was his”.

I love it when I can bring myself a little joy on an otherwise annoying workday.

Haly and Catch Fire, AMC, Mutiny, work, humor, life, Modern PhilosopherDo any of you watch AMC’s “Halt and Catch Fire“, Modern Philosophers?

I’m not sure if I’ve ever discussed it on the blog, but it’s a show I really enjoy and highly recommend.

You’ll especially love it if you’re any sort of computer nerd and/or love the 80s.  If you watch it, let me know what you think.

The name of the upstart computer company on the show is Mutiny.  That’s such an awesome name for a business endeavor, don’t you think?

For some reason, it was a word that was on my mind today.  Maybe because I was thinking about how cool it would be to go out on my own and start my own business.

Can writers actually do that?  Can we just set up shop, hang a shingle, and say that we are open for business?

I’d really love to do that.

I could use a little mutiny in my life.

Well, that’s about all I had on my mind tonight.  Hopefully, after a good night’s sleep, my brain will recharge and the creative juices will start flowing again.

Hope you all have an awesome Friday.  Remember to stay positive…always think of your bladder as half full!

How about some comments below?  You’ve been a quiet bunch lately, and I miss replying to your comments.  Give me something to do!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When The Bladder’s Half Full

  1. floridaborne says:

    The courage to show mutiny in a world full of comedic straight men is commendable. I applaud your attempt to try and find a sense of humor inside the heart and soul of bureaucracy.

    I sympathize with your plight.

    Writers need a t-shirt that says, “I’m a writer. Writers are weird. Get over it.”

    Work. Today was an exercise in frustility…futility…frustration. It’s Friday, time to vegetate for a few hours before participating in that comatose state we call sleep.

Leave a Reply

