I’m Saving My Brain For Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving, humor, writing, exhaustion, holidays, Modern PhilosopherCan you believe that Thanksgiving is only a week away, Modern Philosophers?

I wanted to write a funny, witty, topical post tonight, but my brain just doesn’t have enough words left in it for me to write the kind of article you deserve.

The voices in my head have taken a little vacation, so it’s just me, a limited vocabulary, and a weary brain.

It’s taken a Herculean effort for me to cobble together this short string of sentences to remind you I haven’t forgotten about you, my beloved Modern Philosophers.

Basically, I’m suffering from post-Nite Show writer’s fatigue.  I spent a majority of my free time from Saturday through Tuesday writing monologue jokes for this week’s taping.

Then last night was the taping, after seven hours at the office, which makes for a very long day.  I barely got any sleep and before I knew it, I was back for a nine hour work day.

Basically, my brain won’t turn over.  I’ve tried starting the mental engine several times, but the wheels on my creative bus won’t be going round and round today.

Which is why you’ll have to settle for this After Dinner Mints post.

If that leave you with a bad taste in your mouth, just have another mint!

There’s nothing wrong with not being able to crank out a hilarious Thanksgiving themed post because I went all in with the funny writing jokes for my TV writer gig.

Danny Cashman, The Nite Show, monologue jokes, comedy, writing, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’ll have you know, Modern Philosophers, that the very first joke Danny told at last night’s taping was one I’d written.  So the hard work definitely paid off!

Look…I even took a photo of Danny telling my joke.  Now it’s almost like you were there with me.

I really wish we could arrange a field trip to have all the Modern Philosophers join me at a Nite Show taping.  How cool would that be?

I’m also glad that my brain is too tired to write because that means it’s also too fatigued form Deep Thoughts.

This week is a very rough anniversary for me, and I haven’t been handling it well.  It’s been impossible for me to get into the holiday spirit because Thanksgiving is a sad reminder of someone very dear to me who isn’t currently in my life for the holiday this year.

So while emptying out my brain in the name of late night humor and raucous topical comedy can be a curse when I want to write my blog, it is also a blessing that prevents me from ruminating about what’s paining my heart.

With that in mind, I’m going to post this and then treat my poor, empty brain to some mindless television.

I think it’s earned it!

If your brain doesn’t need a break, why don’t you follow me on Pinterest?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Saving My Brain For Thanksgiving

  1. Gail says:

    Sweet dreams, hard worker.

  2. cartoonrob says:

    No harm in letting something empty out, so it has space to fill up again – even with mindless TV. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

