Gravy Me!

Thanksgiving, gravy, turkey, food, poetry, humor, Modern PhilosopherI am a turkey.

A noble bird.

It is Thanksgiving,

And I know my time has come.

Before you eat me,

Please grant my final wish.

I want you to bathe me

In your finest gravy.

Gravy me!

Pour it all over me.

Cover me in the brown, delicious, comforting warmth of gravy

Until you can’t see me anymore.

If my breast is going to be exposed

On the finest China for all the see,

Do me this solid

And slather me in gravy.

Gravy me!

I am a hungry American,

Weary from the reality of recent events.

For all I know,

The world is about to end,

And this is my final Thanksgiving.

Gravy me!

Put it on everything.

Turkey, stuffing, potatoes, even the yams.

Hell, I might even have you

Cover my apple pie

In God’s little miracle

Of warm, brown Heaven on Earth.

Just start pouring.

I’ll tell you when to stop.

After the month I’ve had,

I’m praying

That you’ve got enough gravy

To drown both my sorrows,

And my Thanksgiving feast.

If I could sail away

On a gravy boat

Large enough to hold both me

And enough gravy to keep me satisfied,

I’d do it

Without a second thought.

Gravy me!

Please don’t make me ask again…

Thanksgiving, gravy, food, humor, poetry, Modern Philosopher

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

