182 Days of Terror!

winter, snow, ice, Maine, humor, Modern PhilosophyDay 53 — After more than seven weeks of purely psychological torment, the horror finally became real!  Woke up to white on the grass, cars, and some of the sidewalk.  It was snowing lightly when I went on my morning run. 

Didn’t think it was bad until the drive to work.  First left turn I made, the car slid out and headed for the sidewalk.  Was able to regain control.  Very cautious for rest of trip.  On the highway, no one was going over 45 mph.  Fine with me.  Rather arrive a little later and alive, than DOA.

When I got to the office, coworkers shared horror stories of overturned cars on the highway, cars in ditches by the side of the road, and extended commutes brought on by icy roads the state didn’t think to ice and sand…

There are 182 days between October 1 and March 31, Modern Philosophers.  I like to refer to this period as 182 Days of Terror! 

I don’t care what the calendar says, but those 182 days make up winter in Maine as far as I’m concerned.

At any point during those six months, it could snow, temperatures could drop below freezing, the wind chill could fall well below zero, ice could make the roads a terrifying skating rink, winds and storms could knock out power, plummeting temperatures could cause the pipes to freeze, and accumulating snow could cause roofs to leak.

For those 182 Days, I live in fear than anything that could go wrong will go wrong.  And this is not an unfounded fear.

snow, blizzard, ice, cold, Maine, winter, humor, Modern PhilosopherIn my thirteen years living in Maine, everything mentioned two paragraphs earlier has happened multiple times.

The House on the Hill has come under siege, Zombie Car has ended up in a ditch by the side of the road or stuck in the driveway, and I have been an absolute wreck counting down the days until April 1.

Today, was Day 53 of the 182 Days of Terror!  We got a short burst of snow yesterday, but it did nothing more than remind me how annoying winter up here can be.

When I went on my run, and the snow was lightly falling this morning, I actually had the Deep Thought that it wasn’t so bad.  The grass looked nice with a dusting of the white stuff, it wasn’t hindering my run in anyway, and it wasn’t supposed to accumulate to a point that would require me to dig the snow shovel out of storage.

And that, Modern Philosophers, is how Snow Miser and a Maine winter will lull you into a fall sense of complacency.

My guard was down and I had no concept that the roads would be so dangerous when I left for work.  It had stopped snowing, there wasn’t any snow in the road, and the street hadn’t been slippery during my run.

That first left turn, though, when the car slid out from under me momentarily, quickly reminded me of the Maine winter death grip I need to have on the steering wheel.

snow, ice, winter, Maine, running, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt was white knuckles at 10 and 2 the rest of the way.  Truth be told, I was relieved to see traffic moving so slowly on the highway.  It was a relief to join the convoy and travel at a snail’s pace.

When I arrived in the office, I was surprised to hear the horror stories about the accidents on I-95.

This is Maine.  How the Hell does a light dusting of snow catch anyone off guard?

Why wasn’t the state’s busiest stretch of road cleared?  How had we lost this battle to Snow Miser?

The answer is simple, Modern Philosophers.  Most Mainers don’t accept my philosophy regarding the 182 Days of Terror!  The natives don’t seem to worry about winter until the calendar turns to December, or in more cases than I care to admit, until Christmas.

They don’t seem to realize that Christmas is 86 days into the 182 Days of Terror!  Fools!

I can’t believe there are still 129 days left.  How do I survive these 182 days each year?

Stay safe.  Follow my blog to read future entries about the 182 Days of Terror!  And follow me on Pinterest because I work hard on these pins for the blog!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 182 Days of Terror!

  1. stomperdad says:

    It was 12C here just yesterday! Today was 7. Someone mentioned snow for tomorrow. Flurries. I’m looking forward to it. Glad you didn’t end up on the sidewalk or in the ditch. Stay safe my Maine friend. I love running in the snow!

  2. I would ordinarily taunt you with some comment about NZ entering summer, 33 degrees c today in my home town etc…but we have also entered earthquake season and after last week’ barrage of MM 6 or 7 shaking across the capital, building closures and a storm that then threatened flooding across the disaster zone, along with monolithic quake damage further south, I can only say that the Snow Miser seems quite appealing about now… not up for house guests are you ?

  3. Gilly says:

    This is precisely why I left Canada after surviving 10 winters there! I loved the summers but oh my goodness, the chaos that came with the first snowfall each year drove me nuts. It was as if Canadians were seeing snow for the first time EVERY time! And then, as you say 182 days of hell.

    When I only had me to think about, I could cope but after one baby who always used to fill his diaper right after I zipped him into his snowsuit after 6 layers of clothing, I thought perhaps I should head back to the UK. Then, when baby number two arrived, I made it to November when he was 10 months old before leaping on the nearest plane and coming home.

    Enough was enough of that white stuff! If we get any here on the south east coast of England, it doesn’t stay long and it is a poor show compared to the US and Canada! You have my deepest sympathy. If it gets too bad, do what the rest of the world seems to be doing and emigrate to the UK. 😀❄️💨🌨

  4. That’s too cool! It’s hot chocolate time! 🙂 Enjoy your run in the snow

  5. ksbeth says:

    and we are on our way towards spring!

  6. Laidig says:

    At least snow manages to make it to the ground before everything grinds to a halt – UK traffic stops at the slightest mention of an upcoming sky-sneeze.

  7. Hey Happy Thanksgiving Austin.

Leave a Reply

