Monday Night Eggnog Society: 11-28-16

Monday, coffee, eggnog, humor, Christmas, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI think it’s time to admit, Modern Philosophers, that the Monday Morning Coffee Club is dead.  I’ve tried to keep it alive via late night Monday posts, but it’s just not the same.  No one wants coffee and Deep Thoughts at the end of a rough day.

So it’s time to form a new club.  Something bigger and better, though.  Perhaps a society because that’s what we’ve become, haven’t we?

I welcome you all to the first gathering of the Monday Night Eggnog Society!

The eggnog is my little nod to Christmas, which is less than a month away.  The time has come to deck this blog with joy, bright lights, Christmas decorations, and Christmas Spirit.

Fa la la la la la la la la!

I’m even wearing my red and green toga with the giant drawing of Rudolph on the front.  Yes, the red nose does light up, but only when someone catches me under the mistletoe and gives me a kiss.  Who’d like to see how it works?

Despite my infusion of Christmas Spirit, it was just another average Monday at The House on the Hill.  I recently got home from a long day of work, and I’m looking forward to making a nice dinner and watching The Walking Dead.  Yes, Modern Philosophers, I find the Zombie Apocalypse quite soothing after being chained to my desk all day and feeling my brain slowly melting from lack of use.

At least I’ve got this big glass of eggnog to lift my spirits.  Yum!  Is there anyone reading this who doesn’t actually like eggnog?

Monday, Eggnog, Christmas, Christmas Spirit, humor, Modern PhilosopherLet me know, and I’ll have the interns whip up some hot cocoa for next week’s meeting.

Did you all find some time this weekend to read the first of my Christmas posts?  They were a blast to write, and I really needed them to make my days merry and bright.  If you haven’t gotten to them yet, there’s one on Saturday and Sunday.

When I first started this blog, many Christmases ago, I loved the challenge of writing a new Christmas post every day of December.  There are some classics in the archives, and I will probably dust some off to share again.

In honor of Rachel, aka The Girl Who Moved Away, I even tossed in a few Hanukah posts.  I’m sure Hanukah Harry will stop by The House on the Hill for a visit this year as well.  He always brings my favorite foods, so I’m looking forward to his arrival.

I know I won’t be able to maintain my Christmas post-a-day pace this year, but I will do my best to fill the blog with humorous, merry, positive Christmas stories.

Are there any Christmas tales you’d like me to cover this year?  I’m pretty tight with Santa Claus, so I can get you some insight about life at The North Pole.  Just let me know, and I will do my best to make your Christmas blog wishes come true.

Well, my tummy is rumbling and I can hear the Zombies moaning, so let me wrap up this little present and put a bow on it.  Merry Monday to all, and to all a goodnight!

Follow me on Pinterest.  That might make it easier for you to figure out what to buy me for Christmas this year..

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Night Eggnog Society: 11-28-16

  1. I don’t… hate eggnog. I’m not a huge fan either.

  2. Glenda says:

    Oh, snap! It’s almost 2:00 in the morning here and there aren’t any convenience stores in my neck of the woods…. not that is go at this time anyway…. hut I’ve got to get me some eggnog when I get up!

Leave a Reply

