Christmas Spirit

Christmas, Christmas Spirit, merry, joy, happiness, poem, poetry, Modern PhilosopherAs the calendar turns

Once again

To December,

My not so

Secret wish

Is that

My empty heart

Be filled anew

With Christmas Spirit.

Maine can be

So cold and dark

In the days

Leading up

To Christmas.

The House on the Hill

Feels more empty

Than usual.

Time for a change.

The Christmas Spirit

Is cordially invited

To make itself

At home.

I wonder

How much different

December would feel

If I were

Suddenly possessed

By the only spirit

I would

Ever allow

To take over

My body.

In the darkest recesses

Of my scattered memory,

I seem to recall

Being overcome

With happiness and joy

Every December

As Christmas approached.

Of course,

What child

Doesn’t grow wild

With anticipation

Of Santa’s arrival?

As an adult,

Christmas means

So much more

When there’s

Somebody special

To spoil with presents,

And kiss lovingly

Beneath the mistletoe.

Does the

Christmas Spirit

Bypass

Single adults?

I hope that’s

Not the case

Because this year,

I’d like to be

More Buddy the Elf

Than Ebeneezer Scrooge.

Oh, great Christmas Spirit,

I open my heart

And mind

To thee.

Please make visions

Of sugar plums

Dance in my head.

I know

I might never again

Be able

To appreciate

Christmas

Like I did

As a boy,

But I’m not dead yet.

Come to me,

Christmas Spirit,

So I might merrily remember

Why I once loved

This holiday

So much…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Spirit

  1. Lutheranliar says:

    Oh, to be single. I would scoop you up in a heartbeat, you Poet, you. Hang in there. Christmas will be gone soon, but you certainly won’t. And neither will your fans.

Leave a Reply

