What Would Christmas Want From Us?

Christmas, Christmas Spirit, hoiday season, merry, joy, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt’s the first Friday night of December, Modern Philosophers, which means we are crawling ever closer to the first day of Spring!

Yes, I’m taking this being positive thing very seriously if I can see December 2 as being anywhere near Spring.

Maybe it’s the Christmas Spirit.  I invited it to possess me, and perhaps it took me up on the offer.  I knew I wouldn’t exactly get an RSVP, but I figured it wouldn’t hit me without some kind of warning.

I did catch myself humming a Christmas carol at work today, and I asked my boss permission to paint the links of the desk chain red and green.  No word back yet if that’ request has been approved.

Sure, it might still be a little too early to feel aglow in the Christmas Spirit, but I thought that we would decorate the Think Tank tonight to help it feel more like Christmas.  So when you come by the Friday Night Think Tank tonight, please bring an ornament, a string of lights, or something to make the place look more festive.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Are we all ready to to bring the merry and the joy and the jingle bells in addition to our Deep Thoughts to the Think Tank tonight?

This week’s topic: Everyone is so caught up in what they want for Christmas, but has anyone ever considered what Christmas might want from us?

Even thought I have lost most of my excitement for Christmas, I have to admit that it still does get to me.

Frankenstein, Christmas, commercial, No Place Like Home For The Holidays, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI love the Christmas carols, I enjoy wandering the neighborhood in search of homes decked out in Christmas lights, and I so look forward to watching all the Christmas Specials.

This year, I’m a huge fan of that commercial where Frankenstein sings “There’s No Place Like Home For The Holidays”.  It gets me every time.  If you haven’t seen it, YouTube it and let me know what you think.

As for what I think Christmas would want from us if we ever took the time to bother to ask, I’d say Christmas would want us all to be this merry, kind, giving, festive, and jolly for the entire year.

Imagine how much better life would be if we treated each other like Christmas was just around the corner every day of the year?

And eggnog was available 24/7?

Joy to the world, a better life has come!

If the Christmas Spirit could last at least through Winter, I know I’d enjoy the season much more.  I honestly don’t think the snow and cold would bother me as much if there were Christmas lights up, Christmas movies to watch, Christmas carols on the radio, and everyone was in a damn good mood and wearing ugly Christmas sweaters.

I say we try it one year.  A noble Christmas experiment.  Who’s with me?

Enjoy the weekend!  I hope the spirit of whichever Winter holiday you celebrate begins to possess you and makes your life a little brighter and merrier.

Merry Deep Thoughts to all, and to all a good night!

Get on my Nice List this Christmas by following my blog.  Why not follow me on Pinterest, too, while you’re at it?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Would Christmas Want From Us?

  1. OOOH I love that commercial… it made me think of all the people who are alone this time of year. What does Christmas want from me, to include them. And to wear my ugly sweater into January- I’m with you!

  2. JED says:

    I blogged last night about setting up Santa with a GoFundMe page for a little payback. Maybe it could work?

  3. Glenda says:

    I would love to make an ugly Christmas sweater and wear until April!

  4. grannyK says:

    I think you are onto something here. We always expect so much from Christmas in such a short time. Maybe, if we spread out the Christmas cheer over the year, we won’t wear down Christmas so fast and everyone would be much happier!

Leave a Reply

