A Much Needed Writer’s Day On Foggy Hill

Writer's Day, The House on the Hill, The Nite Show with Danny Cashman, Christmas, day off, mental health day, humor, Modern PhilosopherChristmas is the Season of Giving, Modern Philosophers, so I have generously decided to give myself a much needed mental health day.

That’s right, Writer’s Day is back!

Last year, Writer’s Day was a staple on my schedule.  I’d take off the day after every taping of The Nite Show to revel in my accomplishments as a writer, and to remind myself that I am a writer first and desk jockey second.

I had not continued the tradition during this season of The Nite Show, and I was feeling the ill effects.

Because of the addictive lure of overtime, I haven’t wanted to skip a day of work and miss out on the free money they have been handing out at time and a half.

But all those extra hours have caught up with me, and my inner Writer Boy has felt ridiculously ignored, so I brought back my favorite made up holiday just in time for the Christmas season.

I slept in this morning, and then dropped off Zombie Car at the mechanic’s for its annual inspection.  During my walk back to The House on the Hill, I made note of both how quiet it was and the eerie snowy, foggy conditions and suddenly felt like a character out of a novel written by my neighbor, Stephen King.

Writer's Day, mental health day, Maine, fog, winter, humor, Modern PhilosopherHow perfectly fitting for Writer’s Day, don’t you agree?

I’ve added a couple of photos from this morning’s walk home to give you some idea of the conditions.

Doesn’t this one in particular make you want to rush into your study to get to work on a horror story?

The mere fact that my walk home inspired ideas for new stories told me that Writer’s Day was already a success.  If I have to suffer through Maine’s harsh winters, I might as well make the best of them.

As I mentioned, last night was the December taping of The Nite Show.  It was a special night because it was all about the holidays.  There was our usual Christmas episode, and then a Christmas Special and a New Year’s Special.

I love the Christmas taping because the set always looks so festive, the amazing Anna Roman returns to sing Danny’s favorite Christmas song, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), the band plays Christmas Carols, and everyone is in a merry, festive mood.

Plus, I get to write jokes about annoying politicians while putting a joyous Christmas spin on them.  Did President Elect Trump or Congressman Bruce Poliquin really think I was going to take it easy on them just because it’s Christmas?

Ha!  ‘Tis the Season of Giving, and I’m going to give those two $%^& no matter what time of year it is.  Even if it lands me on the Naughty List!

This is my favorite photo from last night…

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, The Gracie Theatre, NECSOM, Christmas, humor, Modern PhilosopherThat’s Katie, my favorite member of the NESCOM crew (there always seems to be a photo of Katie in these Nite Show posts…), sitting at Danny’s desk while the crew adjusts the lights and cameras and does sound check.

Not only does this pic feature the adorable Katie and her ever present smile, but it also shows how the crew decked the halls to make the set look like Christmas.

Merry Christmas to all the students from NESCOM who do such a fantastic job of bringing The Nite Show to life!

If you look closely, you can see one of the musical acts rehearsing in the background in front of larger Christmas tree.

That smaller tree next to Katie is the official Nite Show Christmas tree.  During the holiday season, guests bring Danny ornaments that he hangs on the branches.

One of last night’s ornaments might have honored Maine’s recent Election Day decision to legalize marijuana for recreational use.

Anna Roman, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, Christmas, Maine, Modern PhilosopherThe highlight of every Nite Show Christmas episode is Anna Roman, who has the looks of a model and the voice of an angel, returning to do a rousing rendition of Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) that never fails to bring down the house.

Backed up by Brian Nadeau and The Nite Show Band, as well as by the MCI High School Choral Group, and the OPUS Trio, Anna had the audience feeling like it was filled with the Christmas Spirit.

There should be a version of the song on The Nite Show’s YouTube channel, so check it out!

I think I had a little too much champagne during the taping of the New Year’s Special, but 2017 only arrives twice (once by the magic of television at the start of December, and then again on New Year’s Day!) so I wanted to enjoy it.

I left The Gracie feeling like I had just celebrated Christmas and New Year’s, and I was so glad that I’d had the foresight to schedule another holiday for today so I didn’t have to get up early to go to work.

The best thing about Writer’s Day is that it’s not a gift giving holiday, there’s no need to plan a huge meal or put up any decorations, and it’s best enjoyed in peace and quiet with your laptop and a head filled with new story ideas.

For those of you not yet celebrating Writer’s Day, I implore you to make it one of your New Year’s resolutions to add it to your calendar for 2017.  You will not be disappointed.

The Nite Show, OPUS Trio, MCI High School Chorus, Christmas, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe mechanic just called, so I’m off to pick up Zombie Car, which has passed inspection yet again.  After that, I will be right back on the couch, tickling the keys of my laptop, and working on my new screenplay.

Happy Writer’s Day to all, and to all, a good write!

I also want to wish a Merry Christmas to my Nite Show family, but I can do that in person at the show’s Christmas party next week.  See you guys then!

Remember, Modern Philosophers, take some time for yourself this Holiday Season.  We all need it!

Remember, this is the Season of Giving, so how about giving my blog a follow and then following me on Twitter and Pinterest, too?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

