What’s Your Personal Christmas Carol?

Christmas Carols, Christmas, relationships, struggling around the holidays, philosophy, humor, mental health, Modern PhilosopherHo, ho, ho, Modern Philosophers!  Merry Friday!

Christmas is now just two weekends away (can you believe it?), and the mood around the Think Tank tonight is merry, festive, and philosophical.

For some, however, the Christmas Season can be difficult, and I would like us to keep that in mind tonight as we gather for our weekly philosophical exercise.

I brought enough egg nog and Christmas cookies for everyone.  You just need to bring your Deep Thoughts and a little creativity.

Of course, if you’d like to contribute an ornament for the Think Tank’s Christmas Tree, or drop off a present for your favorite Modern Philosopher, feel free to do so.

The weather outside is frightful, but the Friday Night Think Tank is so delightful.  It’s a wonderful place to go, to let your Deep Thoughts flow, let them flow, let them flow…

This week’s topic:  If you had to come up with the name of your personal Christmas Carol to sum up your thoughts, feelings, wishes, desires, and such about Christmas, what would it be?

To put you in the right frame of mind for this week’s topic, Modern Philosophers, I’ve made the interns dress up as Victorian Christmas Carolers, and they will serenade us with our favorite songs of the season all night.

Christmas, Christmas Carols, holidays, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI thought this would be a fun topic because I’m intrigued by which Christmas Carols people seem to prefer.  I’ve always wondered why folks favor one holiday song over another.

Was it because the song spoke to them on a personal level?  Did they just like the tune?  Did they associate a certain Christmas Carol with a favorite Christmas memory?

Of course, this led to further Deep Thoughts until I arrived as the point where I wondered what I would name the Christmas Carol that best summed up my feelings this Christmas.

After much pondering and even more egg nog, I decided that my personal Christmas Carol would be (beware…it’s a long one!):

Please Just Bring Me Something This Year, Santa (But I’d Prefer True Love)

Christmas is probably the hardest time of year for me.  The fact that I’m all alone on what should be the happiest day of the year is driven home every day by romantic Christmas commercials, adorable Christmas specials, the sight of couples walking hand in hand as they shop together, hearing my coworkers discuss their Christmas plans…

The list goes on and on.

Christmas morning sucks at The House on the Hill.  I wake up alone, come downstairs to find no presents waiting for me, and then spend the day by myself wishing that someone cared enough about me to want to spend time with me on December 25.

So that’s what my personal Christmas Carol would be Please Just Bring Me Something This Year Santa (But I’d Prefer True Love).

Christmas, Christmas Carols, Christmas presents, the most wonderful time of the year, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherDon’t forget that not everyone is merry and jolly around the holidays.  If you have the chance to bring a little Christmas joy to someone who might be hurting or alone, jump at the opportunity.

Christmas is about giving, and I hope I’ve given you all something to think about.  Merry Christmas!

If you want to check me out on Pinterest, click below…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s Your Personal Christmas Carol?

  1. Reblogged this on IdealisticRebel's Daily View of Favorites and commented:
    I agree with you.

  2. ksbeth says:

    mine would be ‘i love you all and am looking for someone who loves me back that is not in my family.” )

  3. grannyK says:

    Mine is, “All I Want For Christmas Is A New Set Of Teeth”

  4. MIne would be “Let it Go” (to the tune of “Let it Snow”). Sometimes I just can’t, and I need to remind myself.

  5. Better Late than Never, FAVORITE XMAS CAROL:

    COME RING THE BELLS RING, RING, RING THOSE GOD DAMN BELLS
    I HOPE YOU GO TO HELL FOR RINGING ALL THESE BELLS

    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    MY HEAD SHE HURTS, MY FEET THEY HURT,
    I CAN’T EVEN AFFORD WOOLWORTH’S

    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    I’M ALREADY TIRED OF MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    DON’T RING THOSE BELLS
    SHUT UP WITH THOSE GOD DAMN BELLS
    DON’T YOU WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    I’M SICK n TIRED OF MERRY CHRISTMAS
    ~~dru~~

  6. Reblogged this on saywhatumean2say and commented:
    Reprise of I hate AND love Xmas:

    Better Late than Never, FAVORITE XMAS CAROL:

    COME RING THE BELLS RING, RING, RING THOSE GOD DAMN BELLS
    I HOPE YOU GO TO HELL FOR RINGING ALL THESE BELLS

    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    MY HEAD SHE HURTS, MY FEET THEY HURT,
    I CAN’T EVEN AFFORD WOOLWORTH’S

    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    I’M ALREADY TIRED OF MERRY CHRISTMAS
    DON’T YOU DARE WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS

    DON’T RING THOSE BELLS
    SHUT UP WITH THOSE GOD DAMN BELLS
    DON’T YOU WISH ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS
    I’M SICK n TIRED OF MERRY CHRISTMAS
    ~~dru~~

  7. cbiz50 says:

    Bruce singing “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” with the entire cast on last year’s SNL finale. Otherwise I hate that song.

Leave a Reply

