Carpe Christmas Party!

Christmas, Office Christmas Party, The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, WABI TV 5, writing, humor, Modern PhilosopherTonight was the Christmas Party for The Nite Show, Modern Philosophers, and it could not have come at a better time.

I had a horrible day at work, we were short staffed, it was wicked busy, and I desperately needed to get the Hell out of there and remember that I am a writer.

The shindig was at The Next Generation Theater, which is where we taped The Nite Show before we moved into our new home at The Gracie.  Returning to that theater brought back some wonderful memories.

My first connection with the show was as a guest five years ago to promote The Retirement Party.  Right there at The Next Generation Theater.  The taping fell on Rachel’s birthday, and The Girl Who Moved Away was in the audience and more than a little tipsy.  I was so nervous in front of the lights, cameras, and audience, but it helped knowing that Rachel was out there, cheering for me, and being proud.

Tonight, in the very same space where I made (personal) television history, Danny gave a rousing speech about how well the show was doing, filled us in on the latest ratings (which were very good…we beat Saturday Night Live in Maine again!), and mentioned me by name when thanking the writers.

That was quite an honor for me, and just what my Inner Writer Boy needed to hear after such a crappy day out in the rat race.

There was great food from Moe’s Barbecue, ice cold drinks, and delightful conversation with the members of my Nite Show family.

Danny also got us all some really cool Christmas gifts.  Allow me to model them for you in the photo below…

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, Christmas Party, TV family, writing, Modern PhilosopherWhen Danny gave me my official Nite Show hat, he told me he expected to see me wearing it in all my running selfies.

Challenge accepted!

A fantastic night got even better when I decided to Carpe Christmas Party.  It’s been a long time since High School Latin, and I haven’t watched Dead Poets Society in years, but I’m pretty sure that “Carpe Christmas Party” is Latin for Seize the opportunity that presents itself at the Christmas party.

Just last night, I was talking to a friend who works in Marketing and Sales.  I lamented that my writing career has never quite taken off because I’m horrible at marketing myself and getting people to hire me or buy my screenplays.

Tonight, however, I found myself seated at the table with Steve, the Program Director at WABI TV, and a huge champion of The Nite Show.  Steve is a great guy, and I’ve chatted with him before, but tonight I decided it was time to chat up me.

The Nite Show, Christmas Party, Christmas, writing, TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherI asked Steve if there were any openings in the station’s schedule that he was looking to fill with original program.  He said there was and asked me if I had any ideas.  Maybe it was the beer and a half I’d had to drink, maybe I was just possessed by the Christmas Spirit and really frustrated with my day job, but I launched into a pitch of various program ideas that I just spit out as the formed in my head.

I guess these TV shows had been nestled in the corner of my brain for some time, and when the light went on in my head, all the ideas scurried out for attention all at once.

Steve said he was definitely interested in some of the ideas I’d pitched and wanted to hear more.  He gave me his card, told me he’d talk to his boss about some of the shows I’d presented, and would wait for me to get more ideas to him.

How cool is that, Modern Philosophers?  I have no idea if anything will come of this, but I just pitched TV show ideas to the Program Director of Maine’s coolest station!

Writing and producing original TV programming would be such an amazing job.  And a gazillion times better than what I do now for a paycheck.

Later, I discussed this all with Danny and asked him if he’d be willing to mentor me through the process.  I wouldn’t have even had this opportunity if it weren’t for Danny, and I would’ve been a fool to not ask him for help.

Christmas, Christmas miracle, self confidence, The Nite Show, TV ideas, Modern PhilosopherHe said he would do what he could, and I left the party feeling like a sweaty-toothed madman, O Captain!  My Captain!

The best present I received tonight was the gift of self confidence.  I took a chance and it paid off.  It’s a Christmas miracle!

I will keep you posted, but keep your fingers crossed that this is the break break I’ve been needing and expecting…

Follow me on Pinterest before I insult you with more horrible Latin phrases!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Carpe Christmas Party!

  1. ksbeth says:

    yay – here’s to carpe christmas and a happy new year!

  2. You are so brave. Awesome achievement! Good luck with the opportunity 👊

  3. Happy Holidays to you! This is a smile from the Universe! Congratulations!

  4. Abbie says:

    That’s awesome, Austin!!! Way to put yourself out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

