Are Your Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire?

Christmas, winter, Winter Wonderland, White Christmas, Maine, Polar Vortex, humor, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherTemperatures in Maine dropped to thirty degrees below zero with the windchill factor last night, Modern Philosophers, and tonight might get even colder.

The New Ice Age is here, and Im glad that I had new insulation added to the Think Tank over the summer.  I told the interns to get the fireplace going this afternoon, so things should be warm and toasty for tonight’s weekly philosophical gathering.

Zombie Car put up a little fight when I went out to start it after work, but once the engine turned over, it purred like a very cold kitty the whole way home.

There’s snow in the forecast for tomorrow, so it’s definitely beginning to look (and feel) a lot like Christmas in these parts.  Before you know it, Santa Claus will be coming to town, but after that, what do we have to get us through these frigid days and nights?

Pour yourself some eggnog, grab a handful of Christmas cookies, and join us in front of the fire to share your Deep Thoughts…

This week’s topic: When the weather outside is frightful, what’s your favorite way to deal with a Winter Wonderland?

At work today, my coworkers discussed their various plans for the weekend, and how they were going to deal with the frigid temperatures and another snowstorm.

Christmas is just over a week away, so even though Snow Miser has decided not to play nice, there is still so much that needs to be done to prepare for the holidays.  Some people were ready to handle the weather head on this weekend, while others were going to play it by ear and factor in things like “Will the car start in this cold?” and “Is my street plowed so I can get into town to shop?”

Friday Night Think Tank, Winter Wonderland, Polar Vortex, winter in Maine, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherFor this Modern Philosopher, however, there is only one course of action.  I stopped at the grocery store on the way home tonight, loaded up on supplies, and plan to spend the weekend snuggled up at The House on the Hill.

There are plenty of shows on my DVR, the Jets are on prime time tomorrow night, and there is always writing that needs to be done.

I’m not one for frolicking in the snow, and I do not believe in tempting fate by heading out in frigid, snowy weather just to be active.

Frostbite is definitely not on my agenda this weekend.

I have my comfort foods, plenty of heating oil, and a desire to lazily watch football and Christmas movies.  I don’t dream of a White Christmas, but if we do have one this year, I’ll be enjoying it from the warmth of my living room.

What a beautiful time, I’m having tonight, Sitting out a Winter Wonderland…

What about you, Modern Philosophers?

Follow me on Pinterest, or I’ll send the creepy intern to roast your chestnuts over an open fire…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Are Your Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire?

  1. D. Parker says:

    It’s supposed to warm up here tomorrow, I can’t wait, I feel like Mr. Freeze is visiting and won’t leave. Great post, Austin, by the by, my blog party is still open if you want to drop a link or 12 by. 🙂
    Hope this weekend treats you warmly. 🙂

  2. Quirky Girl says:

    Winter Wonderland sounds lovely. But frostbite? Not so much. It just doesn’t seem very Christmassy, does it?

  3. grannyK says:

    It’s 10 degrees here right now. I do have to go out in it, and I really hope my car will start! It has never liked the cold and will give me trouble once the temps hit below 30. Maybe the poor thing feels as old as I do! I hope it warms a bit for you. Have a good weekend.

  4. The Hook says:

    It’s most definitely frigid in Niagara Falls today, buddy…

  5. Wish it was cold enough to use the fireplace–that’s the only thing I like about a cold winter day in Texas…of course, not nearly as cold as up there (hee hee). Today I’m in fleece sweatpants and a short sleeved Star Wars t-shirt, because my legs get cold in this coffee shop when the temp outside of it is in the mid to low 70s–Sheesh! That cold front didn’t last long. I only seem to dress for winter weather when I’m staying indoors these days. Ugh. At least I’ve got books and coffee, and will eventually curl up with my dog when I get back home.

  6. My dog might be trying to murder me by suffocating kisses and tripping me to bash my skull in (she already head head-butted me last week and busted my lip). I don’t want to be called in as an accessory to your murder if it’s true. Still, it is a gray day out there, just muggy in shifts and annoying. Either be cold or be warm for a while, but make up your damn mind…it’s why we keep getting sick around here, it won’t quit getting warm and cold in shifts.

Leave a Reply

