Let’s Time Travel to the First Christmas

Christmas, the first Christmas, Baby Jesus, birthday presents, time travel, philosophy, humor, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern Philosopher‘Twas the Friday before Christmas, and at The House on the Hill, the Modern Philosophers were gathered for their Friday night thrill…

Welcome to the Friday Night Think Tank, Modern Philosophers.  I’m so glad this week is over because I still can’t wrap my Deep Thoughts around the idea that I get no time off for Christmas.

I’m hoping time spent with you, flexing my brain muscles, will clear my head of those confusing thoughts and refill it with something more appropriate for the season.

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but Christmas is definitely a great inspiration for this blog.  I love the challenge of writing a month’s worth of Christmas themed posts, and I think this year’s crop has been pretty outstanding.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a proper Christmas Season without a post about Time Travel.  Doc Brown is the blog’s most generous financial backer and one of its biggest fans, and he gets a kick out of my philosophizing about ways to humorously use the Flux Capacitor.

Let’s deck the halls with Deep Thoughts.  There’s eggnog, hot cocoa, and Christmas cookies waiting for us in front of a roaring fire…

This week’s topic: If you could Time Travel back to the First Christmas, what birthday present would you bring for Baby Jesus?

Friday Night Think Tank, Christmas, the first Christmas, Baby Jesus, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherNow this is a thought provoking question, and I know my answer will lead to a squadron of Nuns showing up at The House on the Hill with their rulers ready to do some serious damage, but I don’t care.

I also know that my Deep Thoughts will upset Doc because he has very strict rules about Time Travel, but he needs to realize this is strictly for philosophical purposes.  I have no intention of borrowing the DeLorean the next time he visits, and actually bringing this gift to Jesus.

If I were going back to the First Christmas, I’d smuggle in a gift to help give Jesus a chance to live a longer life.

I’d bring Him a Bible.

Doc says we can never give people information about their future, but I think Jesus deserves to know the fate that awaits Him thirty-three years after the First Christmas.

I’m not trying to stop Him from giving His life to save us.  I just want Him to know His future so He can make an informed decision.

For the record, Doc has no right to be mad at me for this gift because he allowed Marty to tell him about his future.  The only reason he’s still around today is because he read Marty’s letter and put on that bulletproof vest the night he met the Libyans.

Christmas, the first Christmas, time travel, Back to the Future, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherWhat’s to say that having a knowledge of His own crucifixion would deter Jesus from leading the exact same life? After all, if He reads the entire Bible, He’ll know the impact of His sacrifice.

Regardless of what Jesus decides to do with the information contained inside my birthday present, I just think it’s a way better gift than gold, frankincense, and myrrh combined.  And isn’t that what matter when picking out a gift for someone?

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  What are you bringing the Birthday Boy?

As long as you’re in such a giving mood, how about giving me a follow on Pinterest while also following my blog?  Remember, Santa’s watching…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Let’s Time Travel to the First Christmas

  1. Christmas Day is an Ordinary day for some people.

  2. Merry Christmas 🙋🏼 – fab post BTW

  3. I’d bring Jesus a warm blanket for his birthday. Then he he could keep warm.

  4. Louise says:

    swiss army knife because there are so many uses for it.

Leave a Reply

