Farewell, Sweet Princess

Carrie Fisher, Princess Leia, Star Wars, rest in peace, farewell, movies, memories, Modern PhilosopherThere is much sadness across the galaxy, Modern Philosophers, at the news of the passing of Carrie Fisher.

While a great writer and an actress of many roles, Fisher will be forever remembered by fan boys and girls throughout the Republic as Princess Leia.

Star Wars is the first movie I remember seeing, and it left such an impression on a nerdy, bullied, scrawny, little boy from Brooklyn, that I credit the flick as the reason I wanted to be a writer when I grew up.

Princess Leia, with those unforgettable buns (the ones one her head!) and the sass and ferocity that all movie heroines only wish they could possess, was my first crush.

This crush only grew with The Empire Strikes Back, and we all know the lasting effect the gold bikini in Return of the Jedi had on multiple generations of the male species.

My feelings for Princess Leia went beyond her looks, of course.  She was a rebel, incredibly fearless, always had great lines, and even though the basic plot of Star Wars set her up as the damsel in distress, Leia blew that stereotype to pieces.

She was just one of the guys…only prettier.

By the time The Force Awakens finally arrived, our Princess had become General Leia Organa, a leader of the Republic, estranged wife of Han Solo, and mother of the tyrant currently known as Kylo Ren.

Carrie Fisher, Princess Leia, Star Wars, rest in peace, farewell, tribute, movies, Modern PhilosopherLet’s not forget she was also Luke’s twin sister, the daughter of Darth Vader, and a friend to the coolest Wookie in the galaxy.

News of celebrity deaths don’t normally register much with me, or lead to my commenting on social media, but I will always be a Star Wars nerd and the passing of Carrie Fisher hit me hard.

Fittingly, I learned of the sad news on social media during my lunch break.  My Facebook news feed was cluttered with tributes from Star Wars fans to their fallen Princess.

I loved Carrie Fisher in The Blues Brothers and When Harry Met Sally, but in my mind, it almost as if there were two separate people: Princess Leia and the Carrie Fisher who acted in other movies, wrote books and screenplays, and occasionally made the tabloids.

Maybe that’s foolish, but she was so damn iconic in the Star Wars flicks, that it’s as if Princess Leia was an actual being who lived a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.  Meanwhile, Carrie Fisher was an actress on this planet, who looked a lot like her, but clearly wasn’t the character from my favorite movies.

Carrie Fisher, Princess Leia, Star Wars, rest in peace, farewell, Modern PhilosopherTonight, I mourn the passing of  both Princess Leia and Carrie Fisher.

Maybe someday, my brain will finally accept that they are one and the same, but for now, I have searched my feelings and believe them to be unique individuals.

They will both be in my prayers tonight.  Rest in peace.

May the Force be with you, ladies.  You will be missed.

Follow or follow not on Pinterest.  There is no maybe…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Farewell, Sweet Princess

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m sad at her passing but at the same time grateful for her return last year to the Star Wars series. It’s almost as if she came back to take a final bow as Princess Leia

  2. amommasview says:

    Nothing more to add… May the force be with you…

  3. You phrased it perfectly, about Leia and the actress who looks like her. Thank you; the alternate timeline theory of a galaxy far, far away makes her passing easier to bear.

  4. BarbCT says:

    So we’ll said. It will be quite a while before her death, out of all the celebrity deaths in 2016, will actually sink in.

Leave a Reply

