Did You Kick Ass in 2016?

New Year's Resolutions, New Year's Eve, Happy New Year, Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe last Friday of 2016 decided that it wanted to be memorable, Modern Philosophers.

I woke up to way more snow than I expected.  Apparently, Snow Miser threw quite a wild winter party last night after I went to bed, and it knocked out power for thousands of Mainers, who are still in the dark tonight.

It took me over an hour to shovel out the driveway, but I had no issues with driving to work in the mess.  I put my faith in my snow tires and newfound self-confidence, and my stress levels remained normal.

So as we gather for the final Friday Night Think Tank of 2016, I find myself reflecting on the year that many are calling downright horrible.  I’ve had the interns buy us funny hats and noisemakers, there’s plenty of champagne on ice, and a roaring fire is waiting to keep us warm as we form our last Deep Thoughts of 2016.

This week’s topic: Did you kick ass in 2016?

Yes, Modern Philosophers, I did kick ass this year.

I resolved to make progress and move forward with my writing.  The biggest change had to be with this blog.  I decided to shift its focus from silly stories about Maine’s Otherworldly Beings and the mythology of The House on the Hill to a more topical commentary on politics, relationships, and making positive changes in my life.

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, year in review, New Year's Eve, New Year's resolutions, Modern PhilosopherI forced myself to closely follow the 2016 Presidential Election, which gave the blog a whole new vibe and opened it up to an entirely new audience.  Those posts led to my getting a weekly column on The Good Men Project, and my writing more political themed jokes for The Nite Show.  I had more jokes make it into Danny’s monologue than any previous year that I’ve been a writer on the show.

I also found the courage to pitch my ideas for TV shows to the Program Director of WABI at The Nite Show Christmas Party, and that looks like it could lead to some very good things in 2017.  Fingers crossed!

I taught myself how to use Canva, and have been creating exciting images for the blog all year.  I joined Pinterest in 2016, and with the help of the pins I’ve made on Canva, have amassed over 3,000 followers.

Earlier this month, I completed the first draft of the first screenplay I’ve written in several years.  Tonight, I chatted with my producer friend, who swears he is going to turn one of my screenplays into a feature film in 2017.

I also kicked ass in non-writing areas in 2016.  I fell in love with an amazing, beautiful, intelligent, sweet, hilarious woman.  Even though it didn’t work out in the end, she changed my life in so many positive ways.  Not only did someone love me again, but I also finally got over The Girl Who Moved Away.

Sure, I wish things had worked out with The Sweet Irish Girl, but she made me realize that I could fall in love again, that I still had so much to offer to the right woman, and that true love doesn’t care how far away the other heart in the equation is.

The Hopeless Romantic in me is alive and well, although a bit heartbroken at the moment.

I saw a therapist and really worked on being more positive.  I have made enormous progress in my fight to overcome my fear of driving in the snow.  By working a ton of overtime this year, I finally rid myself of the overwhelming burden of financial stress.  I reconnected with a dear friend.

Happy New Year, New Year's Resolutions, New Year's Eve, philosophy, year in review, life, humor, Modern PhilosopherNow that I see that in print, I am pretty excited about how well things went for me in 2016.  I’m really looking forward to what 2017 has to offer, and I am resolving right now not to move backwards and lose any ground on all the progress I’ve made.

Happy New Year, Modern Philosophers!

2017 will be the Year of the Modern Philosopher!  I hope you will follow this blog to be a part of the fun.  Follow me on Pinterest, too…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Did You Kick Ass in 2016?

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    Hey I am pleased you kicked ass in 2016. Things seemed tough, but you sure as hell came out of it like a fighter, and are bringing out some really great positives from the negatives. An entire year has gone by, how insane is that! I did not kick ass in 2016, not even my own. I hope in 2017 I can kick my ass back into shape, and I raise my glass to you.

  2. ksbeth says:

    it sounds like you certainly did, austin. in spite of the challenges you did a hell of a lot of kicking of ass! as for me, i had a challenge too, but overcame it and went on to kick some ass – even better inn 2017!

  3. Gail says:

    Congratulations on this year’s achievements. Way to start a new year!

  4. Louise says:

    Omg austin you did kick ass…..so proud of your efforts. Still working my way through your past blogs. Miss the ther wordly ghost guys but ehh!! Its working for ya’. Now you got me thinking about what have achieved…

  5. What a wonderful thing to read, on the cusp of a new year full of untold possibilities. Happy New Year!

  6. Well bully for you my Modern Philosopher Sensei, only meaing that while older than you I’m a new Philosopher but actually the only ass i kicked in 2016 was my very own……..sigh!

    ~~dru~~

  7. Laidig says:

    More power to you, hope you continue to have that drive as you move forward 🙂 In my flatter of moments, I took a moment to reflect and yeah, I did actually do some pretty cool things this year. How I forgot about being in a five-star show for the first time, I’ll never know. Happy hogmanay (new year) when it come, Austin!

  8. tarnegolita says:

    I kicked ass! I was a freelance translator, pet zoo keeper and mother of 3 boys for yet another year! I don’t know how I do it! 😛
    You sound like a seriously lovely guy. I bet you find a new love in 2017! One that lasts! 💚

  9. PiedType says:

    Not so much. More like ass kicked me. But I’m hangin’ in there all the same. Sounds like you had an amazing year. And in 2017, so may we all.

  10. Pingback: Saturday night, we in the spot | Like a Spirit Uncaged

  11. Claudia says:

    Every year you can claim to have learned something is a good year! Some lessons are hard to take, others roll over you like water in the shower. I am happy for your success in writing…I always knew you could do it! And love — it’s just around the corner for you. I just know it.

  12. Happy New Year! I too have a fear of driving in the snow. Last year my car lost in the battle of the blizzard, but I will persevere this year. Good luck and I hope to see great things from you!

Leave a Reply

