Birthday Wishes

What do you wish for when you blow out the candles on your birthday cake? Happy Birthday, Modern PhilosopherIt’s my birthday, Modern Philosophers!

That means the first Friday Night Think Tank of 2017 is going to be a birthday party and Deep Thoughts fest.

The interns spent the day baking a giant whoopie pie cake and putting up decorations.  Meanwhile, I had a better than expected day at work.  I’m really beginning to believe that things are looking up for me, and I look forward to seeing how my personal new year unfolds over the next twelve months.

So let’s gather to celebrate my surviving another year, eat some cakes, and share some Deep Thoughts.

Gifts are strictly optional, but totally expected…

This week’s topic:  What do you wish for when you blow out the candles on your birthday cake?

When I blew out the candles on my Carvel ice cream cake as a kid, I’d wish for wild things like getting to play for the Yankees, being able to join the Rebel Alliance to fight the Empire, and having real friends to replace my imaginary ones.

As I got older, I stopped making wishes because I no longer had cake on my birthday.  Why the hell did I ever agree to that?  I mean, how is it a birthday without a cake?  Can I not count those years against my age in an act of formal protest?

Friday Night Think Tank, Happy Birthday to me, Birthday wishes, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhen I blow out the candles on my awesome whoopie pie birthday cake tonight (Nice work on the cake, interns.  I’m glad you finally did something right!), I am going to be making wishes a little more realistic than in years past.

Tonight I will be wishing for:

Love to finally find me on a permanent basis.  I’m a hopeless romantic and tired of being alone.  This is the year I meet special someone, who sticks around for a long time (she definitely lives on this side of the ocean!!!) and saves me from the boredom of the single life.

Getting back into shape.  I lost 50 lbs a few years ago, and plan to do the same this year.  I know I can do it, and with the extra push I get from Birthday Wish Magic, I will be able to attain this goal without a problem.  When I feel better about myself, I’m more confident and life is good.  Here’s to a healthy 2017!

Locking down the writing gig that allows me to support myself as a writer.  I’m not saying I have to give up the day job entirely, but I need this to be the year when I make enough money writing to make it obvious that writing full time is going to happen.  I feel very good about this one, Modern Philosophers, so let’s keep our fingers crossed.

Of course, I might also wish for Rey. aka Daisy Ridley, to knock on the door of The House on the Hill, hand me a lightsaber, and tell me I have to join her in a galaxy far, far away to battle the First Order.

Rey, Daisy Ridley, Star Wars, Birthday wishes, Happy Birthday, humor, Modern PhilosopherNow that I think of it, that last wish would also make the first three wishes comes true.  Daisy and I would obviously fall in love, I’d get into the best shape of my life during my Jedi training, and I’d write a series of books and screenplays about my adventures.

So I’m pretty locked on my birthday wishes.  What are you wishing for this year?

The Force is strong with those who follow my blog and follow me on Twitter and Pinterest on my Birthday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Birthday Wishes

  1. patricemfoster says:

    Happy Birthday..what left of it.

  2. Happy Birthday. My wish is for you to have great success in your endeavors for 2017 and for the world in general to embrace a philosophy of peace, brotherhood and mutual respect for one another and the planet.

  3. Joseph Nebus says:

    Happy birthday! You share it with ABC’s overnight World News Now, but I suppose there’s room for the both of you.

  4. Happy Birthday!! 🎉🍾

  5. ksbeth says:

    happy birthday )

  6. Great wishes, Austin! Rae must be excited to hear that. Happy belated Birthday! 🎈

  7. Shit and I only wished that I’d have enough air to actually blow the conflagration out. From an older and no wiser fan. ~~dru~~

  8. Louise says:

    Happy birthday austin. I want pretty much same as you except the daisy ridley bit…lol..😄🎉🎉🎉🎁🎁🎁🎂🎂🎂

  9. The Hook says:

    Happy Birthday to one of the finest human beings I’ve never met.
    And you, Austin.
    Gotcha!
    You rock, man!

  10. Janice Wald says:

    Happy Birthday, Austin! I wish you all good things, whatever you would want for yourself.
    Janice

  11. grannyK says:

    I hope you had a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

