Do You Feel Fine?

Donald Trump, Trump's Inauguration, philosophy, politics, humor, Modern PhilosopherDonald Trump was sworn in as the forty-fifth President of the United States today, Modern Philosophers.

I was at work, so I didn’t get to watch any of Trump’s Inauguration, but around noon, I felt this incredible chill run down by spine, so I knew the deed had been done.

The idea of life with our new President might be a little too much to process at the moment, but at least we have the Friday Night Think Tank, so we can be together to try to wrap our brains around what the future holds.

I asked the interns to put together a playlist of suitable songs to help inspire our Deep Thoughts tonight, but it appears they decided to play REM’s “It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)” on a continuous loop.

Please join me for the inaugural Think Tank of Trump’s Presidency.  Something tells me we’re going to need to do a lot of deep thinking over the next four years…

This week’s topic:  Donald Trump’s Inauguration was today.  It might not be the end of the world as we know it, but do you feel fine?

Trump's Inauguration, President Trump, end of days, philosophy, politics, humor, Modern PhilosopherAs I said in the introduction, I was at work when Trump as President the joke became Trump as President the reality.

There were so many comments on Facebook about the change in power, but nothing jumped out at me to indicate that anything had gone horribly wrong.  Yet.

It’s usually pretty busy at the grocery store on Friday nights, but I commented to the checkout clerk tonight that it was incredibly slow.  That could’ve been a good sign, meaning that no one was in a panic stocking up on supplies and preparing for end of days.

Then again, it could’ve meant everyone had already fled to Canada, and I was one of the few dummies who had stuck around to deal with President Trump.

I checked CNN after dinner (I waited until after I had eaten because I didn’t want my meal to be ruined) and there was no sign of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse riding into Washington DC to signal that the end was near.

Right now, I’m more stressed about my week at work than I am about life under President Trump, so I suppose that means I feel fine.

Of course, I reserve the right to change that answer at any point over the next four years.  And I need to add that I keep hesitating when I say “the next four years” because my gut tells me President Trump isn’t going to make it through his first term.

I really think he’s going to step down.  He’ll enjoy the spotlight, do some of the things he promised, rattle a few cages, cause some controversy, and when we least expect it, he’ll ride off into the sunset and leave the running of the country to the actual politicians.

President Donald Trump, Trump's inauguration, politics, satire, humor, Modern PhilosopherThere was a part of me that thought he’d walk away before the Inauguration, but I honestly don’t think he stays for his entire term.  And if he doesn’t quit, then impeachment is certainly an option.

So, yeah, Modern Philosophers, at the moment, I feel fine.  How are you doing?

You should follow me now on my blog and on Pinterest just in case the end of the world is coming…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Do You Feel Fine?

  1. amommasview says:

    Kind of just like you actually… still hoping he will hold a press conference and say: “Got you all, it’s all a joke, let’s get real again…”

  2. Louise says:

    I think the robots r already in the white house. Have u seen melania? She tried to channel the beautiful jackie o and the stiff walk, very r2d2. Will this mean we won’t have war games w u guys anymore? Cos that brings big bucks to australia…and will we no longer have world currencies lnked to US$? Help us

  3. Rachel says:

    I was definitely expecting him to bail before today. And I definitely see a shortened term. But who does that leave us with? Pence? eh…

  4. Well I didn’t see any horsemen and Walmart tonight was just run of the meal Friday; (Pun Intended) so I guess I’m fine too. Ask me tomorrow and then each day next week. After that, ask me every 5 days until the first 100 days are over. After that who the hell knows? Maybe we’ll be publically under Russian’s thumb come May 1st…What a May Day Parade that would be; but then again maybe not. We’ll see. ~~dru~~

  5. Louise says:

    Nah not pence…tipping IvaJar ( daughter son n law) will take over and turn it into another bankrupt business like atlantic city…. Why do u guys hold that ceremony outside on such a cold day?

  6. Gail Kaufman says:

    I don’t feel fine. Nauseous in fact. No point in fleeing to Canada or anywhere else. I believe the damage he does will have a ripple effect beyond our borders.

  7. Louise says:

    Gail come to australia. We are a great place to live

  8. wccunningham says:

    It’s going to be OK. Things normally are regardless of who leads the country. Checks and balances my friend. Not perfect… but nothing ever is. Except Nutella. Yeah, Nutella is as close as it gets.

  9. karenlee says:

    Well. Hmmm. I had not planned on watching any of it, not out of spite, just had not planned on it. But, I watched. In spite of my feelings, this is history, and I wanted to see for myself. No, I did not vote for him. I am no longer angry at those who did. Right now, even though I caught the smirk on his face as he raised his hand to take oath, I’m trying to remain positive. Trying. I’m not fine. I’m watching…

  10. Funnily I actually had REM’s song stuck in my head all day on I-day. But yeah, I don’t really care. I didn’t vote for him (or Clinton). He’ll probably be fine (not good, necessarily), and most of the time, we’ll probably forget he’s there.

  11. donedreaming says:

    I think you guys will be ok because The Donald (are we allowed to still call him that?) says he’s handing all the power over to you the citizens so I guess that means you are his boss and he does what you tell him – like being the new temp in the office. Of course it also means when it all goes pear shaped he can blame it on you!!

Leave a Reply

