I Loathe Going To The Vet

cats, pets, animals, going to the vets, humor, Modern PhilosopherI love my kitties very much, Modern Philosophers.

Cali and Luna are adorable, affectionate, not at all demanding, and very rarely cause any trouble around The House on the Hill.

I don’t write about them much on the blog because they are both very shy, and prefer long, sunny naps to any time in the spotlight.

As much as I love my little monsters, I hate taking them to the vets even more.

I have nothing against veterinarians, mind you.  It’s just that a journey to the vet usually means something is wrong with one of my beloved pets, and I often leave those visits alone and with a very heavy heart.

Then there is the Banky problem.  My little black cat was such a terror at the vet’s that they marked his file with colorful warning stickers, and would try to convince my ex-wife and I to not bring him into the office.  They’d do everything in their power to solve the issue over the phone, free of charge because they were so damn scared of Banky.

It destroyed me to see my sweet little black cat so freaked out, and even though I’m in Maine now and the kitties see a different vet, I’m still traumatized by the mere thought of getting out the travel box and going for “that drive”.

Two summers ago, something was clearly wrong with Cali, so I took her to the vet.  She somehow had fleas, so they needed me to bring her back with Luna so they could both get shots and a thorough examination.

Cali, Luna, cats, pets, going to the vet, humor, Modern PhilosopherTwo cats.  One freaked out cat dad.  And then trying to administer the meds.  What a $!@#%^& nightmare.  I couldn’t get either cat to take the medicine, I convinced myself they would die because of my failure to give them the meds, and I drove myself to the brink of a nervous breakdown.

Melissa lived in Singapore at the time, and there was a twelve hour time difference, so I was on the phone with her during her morning commute, crying like a baby that I couldn’t take care of the cats.

Not my finest moment, but The Sweet Irish Girl found it endearing.  She would later confess that she could tell by the way I cared about Cali and Luna that I would make an excellent Daddy to our children.

Luna has been sneezing for the last few days.  I was hoping it was a cold that would pass without any problem.  This morning, however, I was awakened by her making a very strange sound.  I freaked (of course!) thinking that it could be a lung issue or that she couldn’t breathe.  The vet gave me an emergency appointment, and so it began.

The struggle to get Luna into her travel box was real.  As much as it was an annoying process, it did give me hope that her breathing was fine because she put up quite a fight to avoid the box.

Bruce Springsteen, cats, pets, going to the vet, humor, Modern PhilosopherShe was meowing sadly in the car, and something’s up with the radio, so I didn’t have tunes to soothe her.  Instead, I serenaded her with a couple of Springsteen classics, “The Ties That Bind” and “Thunder Road”.

Luckily, it was a short drive, so I didn’t have to dive any deeper into Bruce’s catalogue.

On a positive note, my singing either soothed Luna into calming down, or freaked her out so much that she was frightened into silence.

A little boy chatted me up in the waiting room, asking all kinds of questions about Luna, while also telling me about his cats and dogs.  I think it actually helped calm me because I am usually a nervous wreck in the waiting room, but I was pretty relaxed today.

We had to wait a while for the vet to come into the exam room, so I passed the time by telling Luna how much I loved her and how brave she was being.  At that point, I was super stressed thinking of all the possible things that could be wrong with her.  But I didn’t want her to sense my fear and neurosis.

Luna just sat there calmly like she was bored by the whole thing.  I sang “The Ties That Bind” to her again, and then played the video for her on YouTube.  She actually stared intently at the video, so I’ve clearly raised this kitty to have proper musical tastes.

The vet thinks Luna just has a cold, and that weird sound is her sniffling with a stuffy nose.  Her heart and lungs are fine.  She does have a bad tooth, which could be causing a sinus infection, so we’re going back on Thursday to have it extracted.

Oh joy!

Plus, I have to give Luna antibiotics all week, and now I can’t call Melissa crying when I freak out, so it could be a real challenge.

Luna, cats, kitties, pets, animals, going to the vet, humor, Modern PhilosopherPerhaps I can convince The Other Melissa, who is a Medical Assistant, to help.  MAs give patients meds all the time, so this should be a cinch for her.

At the moment, I am relieved and very thankful that it might only be a cold.  Luna is still sneezing, but at least she has today’s dose of antibiotics in her.

Thursday is going to be stressful, but that’s too far down the road to worry about right now.  For now, I just have to figure out how to give her the meds every day and hope she gets better.  I loathe going to the vets, but I’ll do anything to make sure my kitties are okay.

Follow me on my blog and on Pinterest.  Luna would really like that!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Loathe Going To The Vet

  1. tarnegolita says:

    Real men love cats! And I should try the Boss on my cats, thanks for the idea! 😉

  2. D. Parker says:

    Austin, I hope Luna is feeling purr-fectly better very, very soon. 🙂

  3. Louise says:

    I look after my families dogs and i just open top jaw w 1 hand and stuff med down throat then quickly massage throat to make them swallow. Oh yeah i put the dog btw my knees to keep them still…

  4. Louise says:

    Funny. Same thng you hold them firmly w your knees …my catlover workmate reckons does same job…or a very firm hand

  5. grannyK says:

    I hope you kitty is better fast!

  6. I laugh because, I KNOW! ~~dru~~

Leave a Reply

