Maybe The Last Jedi Will Teach Me

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Luke Skywalker, Rey, Jedi, The Force, Modern PhilosopherWhat a wonderful surprise I got at lunch today, Modern Philosophers, when I checked Facebook and learned that the next Star Wars movie officially had a title!

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I liked it right off the bat because it not only sounded cool, but also awakened so many Deep Thoughts in my mind.

Is Luke Skywalker the last Jedi?  Will Luke be training Rey to be a Jedi?  Will the Knights of Ren be coming to kill the last Jedi?  Is Jedi singular or plural?

Of course, the Star Wars nerd boy in me had so many more questions, but those are all the ones I will bore you with at this time.

What did you think of the title?  I know you should never judge a book by its cover, nor a movie by its title, but this is Star Wars we’re talking about.  The titles are important.

Admit it, you loved it when you heard the original sequel was going to be called The Empire Strikes Back.  That excited you about the flick, and told you that just because the Death Star was destroyed, the Empire was not finished.

I’m thinking the same with The Last Jedi.  Just because it looks like the Jedi have been vanquished, it doesn’t mean they are done saving the galaxy.  Not by a long shot!

I’m also hoping the title announcement means that a trailer is coming soon.

Star Wars, The Last Jedi, Rey, Luke Skywalker, Jedi, Modern PhilosopherI definitely want much more of Rey in the sequel (and not just because of my massive Daisy Ridley crush).

I am a big fan of a female Jedi Knight, and the Star Wars universe needs a new leading lady after the passing of Carrie Fisher.

Of course, I don’t want to know too much of the plot.  I did a very good job of avoiding any major The Force Awakens spoilers, and I’d prefer to do the same with The Last Jedi.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t want a fantastic trailer to set the table for me, and give me some idea of what to expect in December.  I thought J.J. Abrams did an amazing job with the seventh entry in my favorite franchise, and I expect Rian Johnson to improve on it as the final trilogy moves forward.

After all, many feel that The Empire Strikes Back was the best of the original trilogy.  So there’s a lot of pressure for the second flick to live up to that reputation.

As always, any big Star Wars news made me reminisce about how it felt to see A New Hope for the very first time when I was seven.  Back then, I immediately wanted to become a Jedi and run away to join the Rebellion.

When my stepmother refused to let me escape to a galaxy far, far away, my worst fears were confirmed.  She was obviously working with Darth Vader and had succumbed to the temptation of the Dark Side.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Star Wars 8, Luke Skywalker, Jedi, movies, humor, Modern PhilosopherI never did get to become a Jedi or learn to use The Force, but I’ve never given up on that dream.

Just this morning, as I was wrestling with Luna and trying to get her to take her medicine, I wished that I could just use the Force to handle the situation.

All day at work, I had to fight from letting my job turn me to the Dark Side, and I longed to be able to use The Force to handle the mundane tasks that were melting my brain.

So if we really are down to our last Jedi, I selflessly volunteer my services.  Maybe the last Jedi will teach me, and I can finally join the fight to save the galaxy.

I’m old enough now that my stepmother won’t be able to stop me!

Quite honestly, the way things are looking here at home, we might need some Jedi Knights to help fight off the dark forces looking to take over our great nation.

I can’t wait to see The Last Jedi.  What about you?

Never give in to the Dark Side, but follow me on my blog and on Pinterest, and we will rule the galaxy together!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Maybe The Last Jedi Will Teach Me

  1. Jennifer says:

    The title does make me wonder…..what does that mean? Who is the last? Will the Last one train another or will it all end? Is it December yet?

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    MAY THE FINANCIAL FORCES BE WITH THEM!

  3. Perhaps…the last until the next one is resurrected out of some young pup to continue the franchise? 🙂 How’s Gary the Gargoyle and the rest of the gang?

  4. atthematinee says:

    Nice post, have you shared your thoughts on any movie sites before?

    Samuel

Leave a Reply

