An Icy Reception

Winter Storrm Kori brought ice, sleet, snow, and freezing rain to Maine.Day 116Ice, ice, baby.  No, I’m not listening to Vanilla Ice.  I’m describing what Winter Storm Kori was hurling at Maine with full force during my morning commute.  The freezing rain was coming down so hard that I had to pull into the Hannaford parking lot to scrape the ice off my windshield so I could see where I was driving.

Most of the schools and businesses in the area were closed, but as always, I headed to to work in the mess.  The drive was more tense than usual because the ice made the road treacherous and threatened to prevent me from seeing where I was going.

It snowed, sleeted, and rained all day.  Eventually, they relented and closed the office at 4.  It’s an Ice Storm Miracle!  I was thankful to get to drive home while there was still some daylight.  Left work to find a special friend waiting on the hood of my car…

The 182 Days of Terror will not soon be forgotten, Modern Philosophers.  After some  relatively mild weather, winter returned with a vengeance today.

The freezing rain and sleet picked up just in time to coincide with my morning commute.  As I’ve documented, I feel much more confident driving in the snow this year, but my nerves were definitely frayed this morning when ice began to cover the windshield and limited my view of the road ahead.

182 Days of Terror, Winter Storm Kori, winter in Maine, humor, Modern PhilosopherI kept my wits about me, pulled into the parking lot of the grocery store, and scraped the ice off of all my windows.  For a fleeting moment, I considered turning around and going home, but I decided to press forward.

By the time I turned onto the highway, my defrosters had kicked into high gear and I had an ice-free view of the road.  Traffic cruised along at 40 mph because slushy conditions made driving straight much more of a challenge than it ever should be.

By the time I arrived at work, the parking lot was a sheet of ice.  Silly me forgot my ice skates!

After clocking in, I went back out into the sleet to spread salt on the walkway to the Employee Entrance.  Then I used the shovel to chop and clear the ice.  The last thing my coworkers needed after survive a hazardous drive to work was to slip and fall ten feet from the office door.

The bad weather continued all day.  One coworker had to leave because the city was closing all offices, which meant no more daycare for her little one.

Finally, we got the email I never expected would arrive.  We were closing at 4:00 to allow us to get home while there was supposed to be a break in the storm.

When I went out to start my car and clear the ice from the windows, I discovered a little gift on the hood…

Car snow man, Winter Storm Kori, Winter in Maine, humor, Modern PhilosopherMy friend Micki had left me a little snowman.  Micki loves snow, and knows I’m not a fan, so she enjoys leaving miniature snowmen on my car to try to lift my spirits.

Maybe Mini Frosty was a good luck charm because the ice came off my car very easily, and even though it was pouring, it had turned to rain.  Sure, that would still make the drive home challenging, but at least it wouldn’t be adding a layer of ice to already messy roads.

Since I’ve been more confident with my snow driving, I decided to take the highway home even though there were reports of slick conditions.

I must give my company props for the early release time because driving home while there was still daylight made a major difference.

Winter in Maine, wishing well, Winter Storm Kori, humor, Modern PhilosopherGot home and into the garage without incident.  Stayed out in the downpour to clear as much of the driveway as possible.  However, it was very icy and I kept sliding down towards the street.

The forecast calls for rain overnight, but the temps are supposed to stay above freezing.  My fingers are crossed that this is true because otherwise, I’m going to find a very steep skating rink has replaced my driveway in the morning.

116 days down, 66 to go.  I feel much better about driving in the snow, but I cannot wait for spring!

While you’re sitting inside, all warm and toasty, why don’t you follow me on my blog and on Pinterest?  It will warm my heart and maybe melt some of the ice Winter Storm Kori left behind…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to An Icy Reception

  1. That storm is planning on staying up north, right?

  2. Louise says:

    Urghh why did you havta write about vanilla ice…i now have that stupid song stuck in brain….and its 34C here…

  3. grannyK says:

    This winter has been brutal! Idaho broke all known records for snowfall this year (well, records in Idaho, that is). Be safe out there!

  4. susielindau says:

    Ice is the worst! Love your little snowman hood ornament. Micki and I can relate! (Love the snow and the storms.)

  5. nikisthoughts says:

    We got some of that ice in NY yesterday. Nothing today, but getting more snow tomorrow. Boo!

  6. TanGental says:

    While we moan about the weather here in London I’ve never known an ice storm or iced rain. Sounds horrific. Please keep it. We like many gifts from across the pond but that’s not on our list…

Leave a Reply

