Pace Car

A snowy drive home, Winter in Maine, poetry, humor, Modern PhilosopherOn a day

Both cold

And dreary,

I started home

From work

So weary.

Snow had fallen

Fast and heavy,

Near the end

Of the work day.

Large, heavy flakes

Most unexpected,

Now covered

Roads already

A slushy mess.

Still drained

From yesterday’s

Ice storm,

And not sleeping

Because of worries

About my poor,

Sick kitty,

I wasn’t really

In the mood

For a snowy

Misadventure.

Luckily,

I found a gap

In highway traffic,

And fell in line

Behind a little car

Going slow

And steady.

The snow

Was falling

And the road

Was dark,

But I just followed

My pace car.

Its taillights

Led the way,

Red beacons

A very

Safe distance

Up ahead.

The whole

Way home,

No one

Got between us,

I never

Closed the gap,

And my heroic

Pace car

Even got off

At my exit.

Do guardian angels

Frequent Maine highways

In late model Fords?

All I know

Is that

My journey home

Went better

Than expected,

All because

I let

My pace car

Lead the way

To safety.

On a day

Both cold

And dreary,

I got home safe

And now

I’m cheery.

One day closer

To spring…

Don’t forget to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pace Car

  1. Austin, that was beautifully written. I like having a pace car, too. I feel more secure seeing the lights of, and following in the tracks carved by the person ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

