Illuminating the Tunnel

Winter in Maine, hope, light, humor, Modern PhilosopherDay 123 — When I stepped out into the parking lot at the end of the work day, I had to pause to make sure my eyes weren’t deceiving me.  There was still enough daylight lingering to give me a glimmer of hope that this winter would not be eternal.

Upon arriving at my car, however, I found the windshield frosted on the inside.  It was 15 degrees and there’s snow in the forecast for tomorrow, the first day of February, historically the most brutal month of any winter.

But tonight, when I left work, there was light.  And with light, there is always hope…

There’s only 59 days until April 1, Modern Philosophers.  At that point, the 182 Days of Terror will have officially ended.

Of course, there’s no guarantee that April’s arrival will mean the end of snow and freezing temperatures, but it will signal a new beginning.

April brings baseball, flowers, singing birds, and longer, sunnier days.

This post isn’t just about the fact that I found a little sunshine waiting for me when I left the office, though.  There might be a light at the end of yet another proverbial tunnel.

I can’t go into too much detail at all because it is much too early, nothing is all all solid, and I’m incredibly superstitious and wouldn’t want to jinx anything.

But I did have an excellent meeting last night with my contact at the TV station about the ideas I pitched him.

We talked for two hours, mostly about two of the ideas that I had briefly outlined in a previous conversation and some emails.

Winter in Maine, 182 Days of Terror, Writing for TV, Television Production, hope, humor, Modern PhilosopherAgain, nothing is at all guaranteed at this point.  It’s really more of a dream than anything else, but it was definite progress in my quest to move my writing career forward.

If nothing else, I spent two hours chatting up a very good contact in the TV business.

Hopefully, I made a very good impression.  I got the sense that I did because while the meeting was meant to focus on one show idea, it ended up moving on to a second concept that he also really liked.

Heck, I even cold pitched a third idea when he jokingly said I should come up with a show that had Awesome Austin in the title.  To tell you the truth, I’m going to put some serious effort into fleshing out that last one because I’m very intrigued by the idea that crept out of my brain.

For too long I’ve been complaining about how I’m not working full time as a writer.  While I’ve made steady progress with my gig on The Nite Show and via the growth of this blog, I still spend my days at a job that is not my true calling in life.

Last night was a big step for me, even if nothing comes of these pitches and the shows never make it on the air.  I took a risk, I believed in myself, and I spent two hours confidently explaining why the network should go into business with me.

I have to admit, I had a lot of trouble sleeping last night.  My mind was racing with ideas, and there was all this nervous, exciting energy intent on keeping me from making the journey to Dream Land.

Just keep your fingers crossed, Modern Philosophers.  Maybe say a rosary or two.  It would be really great if this worked out for me.

Tunnel of Love, relationships, philosophy, humor, hope, Modern PhilosopherSo maybe that is a light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s still too far away to know for sure, but at the very least there’s hope.

Hope is a fuel that can get me through the coldest winter and the most trying portions of my life.

As for the tunnel depicted in the photo at the left, I don’t see much light shining there.

Of course, the Hopeless Romantic in me will never give up the dream of finding True Love.  And how can I quit on anything right now when there’s so much hope in the air?

As The Boss so eloquently put it in Tunnel of Love: Well, it ought to be easy, ought to be simple enough, Man meets woman and they fall in love…

We all know nothing in life is easy, though.  If it were, every tunnel would be fully illuminated every day of the year.

Follow me on my blog and on Pinterest, and I’ll lead the way to the light at the end of the tunnel…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Illuminating the Tunnel

  1. Fingers Crossed Sensei! ~~dru~~

  2. susielindau says:

    Good luck! Keep saying those rosaries. I believe in you, Austin!

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    Slow down, Austin. Career and love success all in one blog? Take one step at a time and savor the moment. It sounds like you made a fantastic impression.

  4. Claudia says:

    OMG..that sounds like me on MY job! Always a data person during the day, writer afterwards. Now am getting s chance to write and maybe turn it into full time! Told you its your/our year!

  5. Amanda Lyle says:

    There is always light at the end of the ‘love’ tunnel, my friend!

    I hope you have been well – albeit a little cold – and 2017 is treating you well so far! I’ve missed our little random chats! It’s been too long, eh?!

  6. Louise says:

    The year of the fire rooster is beginning very positive..for you..fingers crossed

  7. There is a tunnel joke just waiting to be made…

  8. Silly Mummy says:

    Ooh – good luck with the career prospects! I do the opposite to you, season-wise – I wish away Spring & summer waiting for autumn & winter to return!

Leave a Reply

