The Blog Mirror

Self-image, self-confidence, how we see ourselves, poetry, philosophy, self-awareness, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhen I

Look into

The Blog Mirror,

I see

The version

Of me

I’d like

The world

To see.

I’m confident,

Cocky,

Handsome,

Hilarious,

Thin,

Fit,

Successful,

And ready

For anything

Life could

Possibly

Throw at me.

The reflection

Winking back

At me

In the Blog Mirror

Is quite

The catch.

But how much

Of the

Real me

Do I

Actually see?

Does any version

Of that relfection

Truly exist?

There must be

A glimmer

Of that man

Living somewhere

Inside me,

Otherwise,

I’d be moping

Through a life

In direct

Defiance

Of what

I truly want

For myself.

When I

Look into

The Blog Mirror,

I see

The version

Of me

I hope

That you see.

If not now,

Then maybe

In the

Not so distant

Future.

I’m not happy

With me

At the moment,

But I know

The real me,

The man

I always

Strive to be,

Exists somewhere

Other than in

The Blog Mirror.

Mirror, mirror

On the

Blog wall

Does this poem

Make sense

At all?

Much like me,

It’s a

Little off,

But the potential

Is obvious.

It’s never easy

To live up

To expectations…

Especially

Your own.

How will you be able to look at yourself in the Blog Mirror if you don’t follow me on my blog and on Pinterest?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Blog Mirror

    • Austin says:

      That was 5 years ago when Rachel dragged me to the gym every day and I lost 50 lbs. That’s how I think I look when I look into my Blog Mirror, but I don’t really look that way anymore…

  1. ksbeth says:

    you are much too hard on yourself. accept the man in the mirror and live life fully )

  2. Louise says:

    Wats that 50lbs is apx 22kg….man thats huge amount of weight…well done i think. Ksbeth right ur too hard on yourself…go on get another philly cheesteak sanga in to ya

  3. True. We all expect much of ourselves…maybe too much sometimes.

Leave a Reply

