Why We Need Love Now

Valentine's Day, love, caring, respect, the world needs love, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherValentine’s Day is only a few days away, Modern Philosophers, and it has inspired me to share some Deep Thoughts about how desperately the world needs Love.

Yes, I capitalized the word because that’s how important Love is at the moment.

As always, Valentine’s Day conjures up thoughts, wishes, and lamentations of romantic love.  It is only natural for us to want to couple up, find our better half, and have a shoulder to lean on in good times and in bad.

Right now, though, the world needs Love on a totally different level.  I’m not talking romantic love, relationship love, or ooey gooey, smooching in the corner kind of love.

I mean the type of Love that can unify a planet, block out the hatred, stand up to the bullies, and drown out the mean spirited.

I don’t like to use the blog as a pulpit, Modern Philosophers, but right now, I am sick of the state of the world around me.

I’m afraid to even look at the news anymore out of fear it will make me to vomit.  My big brain cannot process the concept that our great nation is being led by a man, who in my eyes, is nothing more than a bully.

The President of the United States should not be picking fights with the people he has sworn an oath to lead.  He should not spend more time on Twitter than a twelve year old with ADHD.  The Commander in Chief of our Armed Forces should not be blurting out any idea that pops into his head, like a schoolyard bully looking to mark his territory.

Love, Peace, kindness, Valentine's Day, politics, philosophy, bullies, Modern PhilosopherThe Oval Office should not resemble the parking lot behind that one store in town that looks the other way when underage kids buy cigarettes and beer.  You know the place, where the outsiders hang out all day, smoking, drinking, griping about how the world mistreats them, fantasizing about how they’d fix things if they were in charge, and harassing anyone them deem “uncool”.

I’m so sick of the current state of affairs that I want to lock myself in my basement bunker, find a way to hibernate, and wake up after the next Presidential election.

I want to live in a world filled with Love, not one smothering me with anger, hatred, racism, and lies.

I don’t need alternative facts shouted at me by angry people who suddenly get to make the rules because Love wavered and hatred won the Electoral College.

I’m tired of cringing every time I see a headline.  I don’t want to build walls.  There shouldn’t be lists, bans, or the silencing of anyone who wants her voice heard.

All you need is love, heal the world, be kind, Valentine's Day, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherThis year, I want Valentine’s Day to be about the kind of Love that can heal the world, make me proud of my country again, and fill my news feed with kindness.

Be kind, be aware of how your actions affect others, and above all…be Loving.

Let’s make America Love again.  After all,  Love is really all you need.

I’d love it if you were kind to others and did your part to make the world a better place.  I’d appreciate it if you followed me on my blog and on Pinterest.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Why We Need Love Now

  1. I wonder if England loves us enough to reinstate colonial rule…

  2. Louise says:

    I hear you. So tired of all the angst. Big hugs time everyone.

  3. Reblogged this on saywhatumean2say and commented:
    So well said, bravo. ~~dru~~

  4. ksbeth says:

    yes, to all of this, austin –

  5. Gul says:

    Can’t agree more with you! It’s about time we realise that we are all the same despite the disparities in our cultures or race. Hope peace prevails.
    Supporting the same thought – https://thehomemakerssite.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/we-are-humans-all-human-race-as-one/

  6. The Hook says:

    And a comic writer shall lead them…
    Well done, buddy.

  7. Totally agree Austin, being mixed race myself, enough said. We are all one, one people, nothing more, nothing less.

  8. Traci York says:

    Love the love in this lovely post! Wicked awesauce, Austin!

  9. thebeasley says:

    Love will win. Also, love the comments re England reinstating colonial rule. There was a hilarious New Yorker article about that. We’d love to, but we’re pretty screwed too.

  10. What would be our life with out love and relationships ..? Easy and sorted isn’t this good enough

Leave a Reply

